Quilted

white sweater white skirt plaid scarf brown boots by 14 shades of grey

And I’m back, both to work and to the blog, after the Lunar New Year Break. Before the break, three weeks seemed so long, but now I felt like I’ve hardly gotten any rest at all. Mostly because I spent the entire time catching up on my translating work. Never mind, we’re going to have another break at the end of April and by then I should be finished, I can rest then. And I’m planning a proper break this summer (shh! it isn’t finalized yet and I don’t want to jinx it.)

Anyway, here’s my outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Harriet Powers’ “Bible Quilt”. I picked this sweater and skirt for their textures and neutral colors, and add in some touches of gray and brown. You can’t see my tights, but they’re actually gray polka dots, to echo the polka-dot animals on the quilt. I admit, the untucked sweater and skirt look a bit frumpy together, but I like it.

Drop by Jen’s blog tomorrow to see how others interpret this unique piece of art!

white sweater white skirt plaid scarf brown boots by 14 shades of greywhite sweater white skirt plaid scarf by 14 shades of grey

white sweater plaid scarf by 14 shades of greywhite sweater white skirt plaid scarf brown boots by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: local shop, Skirt: Zalora, Scarf: Candies’, Tights: Target, Boots: Aldo

3 Comments on “Quilted”

  1. Mike says:

    You deserve a break for all that you do Salazar. I hope that you’ll get to take a real one this summer (not to jinx it!). I need a vacation as well, a REAL one in which I go somewhere and not just take another “staycation” like I always do. I don’t know why but even when I take time off from work, I always manage to find something work related to do at home and can never fully relax. I’m hoping to change that this year.

    Anyway, I like your brown and white neutrals for this SIA interpretation. There’s even small bits of red in your scarf, which is perfect for the bit of red found in the quilt. And of course the brown plays a big part in this particular work and you’ve certainly have that covered. Great job! Looking forward to the round-up tomorrow!

  2. theclassyjunk says:

    I don’t think I ever look at crisp white as frumpy. I just see a classical outfit with a bit of comfort. You look ready to wander the shores of wintery beaches. And of course, it definitely speaks to the quilt.

    http://www.theclassyjunk.blogspot.com

  3. […] is Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey, who has a perfectly coordinated outfit of neutrals (cream + cognac), with some very interesting […]


Leave a Reply

