SIA Inspiration: Harriet Powers

This week’s SIA, chosen by Jen, is a special one – it’s the “Bible Quilt” by Harriet Powers, a former slave and folk artist:

Not only this is a great piece of folk art, there is some amazing history behind it as well. The style actually reminds me a lot of Matisse’s paper cut-outs, but the subject matter and the earthy color scheme are what set it apart.

Onto a piece of SIA-related news: my co-creator, Jess, is stepping down from hosting SIA to focus more on her work and personal life. She’s going to keep Animated Cardigan alive and will try to participate in SIA whenever she can. While I’m sad not to have Jess around for SIA anymore, I definitely understand the need to prioritize, and wish her all the best.

Now, I’m happy to announce that Erin of Loop Looks is going to join us as a co-host! Erin has been a long-time participant of SIA, and I’m sure she’s going to bring some great new perspective to the challenges. And of course, any reader who has suggestions can email the three of us.

So, remember to send your outfits to Jen (librarianforlifestyle@gmail.com) by next Monday, February 22, to be included in the SIA round-up, and check back the week after for a new inspiration courtesy of our new co-host, Erin. Have fun!

9 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Harriet Powers”

  1. Mike says:

    Oh No! So sorry to hear that Jess will no longer be a part of SIA on a regular basis. It won’t be the same without her. She was one of the original creators of SIA, along with you, right? I remember seeing some of your first posts and it was just you and her to start with.

    But yeah, I totally understand about prioritizing one’s life, as we all must do sometimes. Well, I’ll pop over there and wish her my very best. I sure will miss her…

    But I’m so happy to hear that Erin will be our new co-host for SIA! I look forward to any new ideas that she will bring to the team as well as participating in SIA challenges that she will be curating. Welcome Erin! πŸ™‚

    As for this week’s SIA choice, I think this is great one. It honors both Black History Month as well as another great woman, both of which I am always happy to see. And actually, seeing this quilt reminds me of a book that I read some time ago called “The Invention Of Wings” by Sue Monk Kidd. There are two main characters, one of which who was a slave, Hetty (mainly known as “Handful”). And her mother had made this quilt that tells the story of her life as well as those in her family, as I recall. An excellent book that I highly recommend. I was thinking of trying to incorporate this one in future book discussions because it is such a great read. The other main character, Sarah Grimke, was actually a real person and she and her sister later became great women, fighting for both women’s rights as well as speaking out against slavery. Again, I highly recommend this book.

  2. Thanks for having me! I’m excited to be a part of this awesome and unique series.

  3. Tessa says:

    Dear Erin, dear Duc,

    I’m glad to have stumbled across your SIA project as it as led me to discover both beautiful artworks and style inspirations. I love the creative and informative way you all approach these challenges with. They give food for thought in various ways. Thanks for sharing this concept with us!

    Some questions have been on my mind for a while, and I hope you can help me out. You mentioned before that you welcome suggestions for new SIA challenges:
    1) Is it possible to suggest artworks without participating in the challenge yourself?
    2) If it is, are there any conditions concerning the artworks nature, content, style, period etc. they ought to meet (e.g. would you accept sculptures or woodcuts?)
    3) Shall we include a picture of the suggested artwork?

    Thanks in advance and best regards

    Tessa

    • Salazar says:

      Hi Tessa,

      Thank you for your interest in SIA. Yes, you can suggest artworks without having to participate in the challenge, and it can be anything you want – if you look through my “style imitating art” tag or the SIA category, you can see that we’ve done everything from paintings and sculptures to photos and book covers, and even illustrations and jewelry. It’s best if you can include a picture of the artwork and any background you have on it. I can’t promise how soon we can feature them, but any suggestion is welcome!

      • Tessa says:

        Dear Salazar,

        thanks for your fast and positive reply. I imagine you must have a lot of artworks you’d like to feature, so I’d be happy enough if you considered some of my suggestions. I’ll make sure to include a picture and some background information on its content, the artist and the reasons which I suggested it for SIA.

        Best wishes
        Tessa

  4. Jess says:

    Yay yay, I’m so glad Erin’s going to help run SIA! I’m looking forward to seeing how SIA continues to grow πŸ™‚

    • Mike says:

      And don’t forget that you are always welcome to join us again whenever you can Jess! It won’t be the same without you. You’ll always be part of the team! πŸ™‚

  5. theclassyjunk says:

    Oh, no. That’s such a bummer. Of course it’s important for her to do what’s right for her but, it won’t be the same without her.


Leave a Reply

