SIA: Nocturne In Black And Gold

Welcome to another round of SIA! As a reminder, this week’s inspiration is “Nocturne in Black and Gold: The Falling Rocket” by James Abbott McNeill Whistler. Let’s get to it!

First up is Mike, who brought out his favorite green shirt to match the green in the painting:

03_salazar_whistler_mike

Next up is Stephanie, whose printed skirt and scarf echo the fireworks:

03_salazar_whistler_steph

Steph’s friend and our co-host, Jen, found inspiration in the teal, black, and gray colors, and also mimicked the firework in her brooch (I approve):

Trust Erin to always look so sharp and modern-chic:

And trust Kezzie to always look adorable – those are galaxies printed on her dress!

We have yet another constellation-printed dress, this time from Noelle – love it!

Finally, here’s me:

black embellished sweatshirt black midi skirt black boots by 14 shades of grey

And as a bonus, here’s a photo of the actual Lunar New Year firework display on Sunday night (it’s practically right next to our house – I could’ve gotten a lot closer if I wanted, but it was crowded and the fireworks look better from afar anyway):

fireworks by 14 shades of grey

Thank you everybody for another successful SIA! Check back next week for a new inspiration!

4 Comments on “SIA: Nocturne In Black And Gold”

  1. Mike says:

    Another great SIA round-up here! Thank you Salazar for once again for having me here in this latest challenge. If I may say so, I love Kezzie’s and Noelle’s galaxy themed outfits (I’m a big fan of astronomy) and I think that they go well with this painting. πŸ™‚

    Also if I may note something about my outfit, the metal buttons on my jacket, as well as the bit of yellow in my hat, represent the bit of yellow that’s found in the painting. It’s sort of a subtle detail and maybe not that great of a representation, but it was the best I could do. And as Salazar said, I’m wearing my favorite green shirt, which I think goes well with the subtle green that’s seen in the painting. So just a few little added details for you there. πŸ˜‰

    Everyone did great as always! Hope to see you all for the next SIA challenge! Stay awesome everyone!

    And thanks for sharing the fireworks display Salazar! I bet it was great seeing it live!

  2. Ooooh, thanks so much for the fireworks photo, Salazar! And those galaxy-print dresses… gorgeous! πŸ˜€

  3. Kezzie says:

    I love the different takes- Salazar’s tiny little gems acting as fireworks against a dark sky background, Mike’s more subtle and detailed shading with the green and the buttons, Noelle’s gorgeous dress(yay great minds!), Jen’s beautiful dress and brooch combo, Erin’s amazing contemporary rich take on it, Stephanie’s amazing patterns! The whole combined effect is most pleasing!x

  4. theclassyjunk says:

    I knew I was going to enjoy this round up and the firework picture is the perfect cherry on top. Lovely!


Leave a Reply

