Black Sparkles

black embellished sweatshirt black midi skirt black boots by 14 shades of grey

Happy Year of the Monkey! As I’m typing this, I’ve just had a huge meal and am currently on the couch snacking on all kinds of delicious preserved fruits and candies, which is as it should be. Like I’ve always said, the best thing about the Lunar New Year is the food 😀

Also, it means that I’m not actually wearing this outfit featured in today’s post. I did wear the sweatshirt earlier in the day, but with stretchy jeans, because you know, food. I am planning to wear it for the office party next week though (in Vietnam we usually have the office party after the holiday. Before the holiday there is just too much to do and everybody is in a rush to get home to their families so it’s no fun.)

I had this sweatshirt in mind when I picked the inspiration for this week’s SIA, “Nocturne in Black and Gold: The Falling Rocket” by James Abbott McNeill Whistler. For the rest of the outfit, I was debating whether to include more gold or grayish green to mimic the painting, but in the end, I decided the embellishments are enough (there is a bit of green in them) and kept the rest of the outfit simple.

black embellished sweatshirt black midi skirt by 14 shades of grey

black embellished sweatshirt by 14 shades of greyblack embellished sweatshirt black midi skirt black boots by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: Zalora, Skirt: thrifted, Boots: Esprit (hand-me-down)

Don’t forget to check back tomorrow to see how others interpreted this painting! I’m going back to my snacks now…

One Comment on “Black Sparkles”

  1. Mike says:

    Happy year of the Monkey Salazar! It sounds like you had a great holiday! How you spent your day is sort of reminiscent of what I did this past Thanksgiving (which holiday is all about food for us). I spent most of the day in my PJs on the sofa, snacking while I watched our annual Macy’s parade on TV (one of my favorite traditions) and also helping my mom with the preparations for big meal. I think it’s probably my favorite holiday of the year. 🙂

    That’s a great interpretation for this week’s SIA as well Salazar. I think, like the painting, there is just enough green there for show and the flowers on your shirt work well to show the fireworks that are also on display in the painting. Sometimes, simple is the best way to go.

    Looking forward to the round-up tomorrow!

    Enjoy the rest of your day and have fun at your office party!

    P.S. Check out Google’s main page when you get a chance. I think you’ll like it. Even over here, Lunar New Year is acknowledged!


Leave a Reply

