February Layers

white sweater gray coat blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

The weather has moderated, but it’s still pretty freaking cold, so I combated that with layers that are warm but can also look presentable on their own should the sun suddenly decided to pay us a visit.

I’ve also been playing around with wearing multiple brooches. I figure that layering jewelries, like necklaces or bracelets (remember the “arm parties” trend?), usually works best when they have a similar look or feel while still vary enough to create interest, so the same rules apply to brooches. I’ve worn multiple brooches before, but usually just with my enameled ones, and now I’m branching out. I’m going for a “leaf” theme here, as you can see – they still look a bit haphazard, but I’m hoping as my collection grows, I can get better at it.

white sweater gray coat blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greywhite sweater gray coat blue jeans by 14 shades of grey

gray coat leaf brooches by 14 shades of greygray coat blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Uniqlo, Coat: Atmosphere, Scarf & Jeans: Forever21 (gods, I didn’t realize how saggy these jeans have gotten; they need to be retired!), Sweater & Boots: local shops, Brooches: various

2 Comments on “February Layers”

  1. Mike says:

    Same here. We’re back to cold weather as the temperature dropped about 30 degrees over the course of 12 hours. Yesterday we hit 63 degrees, which is warm for us. But today, we’re around 33 degrees. So now it feels like February should, reminding us that winter isn’t over yet. :/

    Your green leaf brooch adds a nice touch of color to your outfit and is a perfect match with the background!

  2. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. I love that you used 3 brooches. They are so awesome!


Leave a Reply

