Arctic

striped turtleneck gray coat black jeans brown boots by 14 shades of grey

It’s still not warm enough to take photos outside, but at least the temperature is in the 50’s instead of 40’s, so I wanted to show you guys what I’ve been wearing this past week – basically all of my warmest shirts and sweaters layered on top of one another, my thickest coat, thickest jeans, and boots. What you don’t see here is fleece-lined tights under my jeans (I would’ve added another pair of socks but then I wouldn’t be able to fit into my boots – and even then my feet are still like icicles) and a wool scarf.

gray coat black jeans brown boots by 14 shades of greystriped turtleneck gray coat brooch by 14 shades of grey

black jeans brown boots by 14 shades of grey

Think I’m a wimp? Try spending a week in this kind of humid cold, with no heating anywhere, and see how you like it. I would’ve said this:

… except sometimes it’s even colder inside the house.

Shirt & Brooch: local shops, Sweater & Coat: H&M, Jeans: Mango, Boots: Vagabond

9 Comments on “Arctic”

  1. Mike says:

    You’re no wimp Salazar. You’re smart to dress in layers when it’s cold. You should see me when we hit our coldest temperatures here: Undershirt, with thick long sleeved regular shirt or sweater, light jacket along with a thick coat (with lining inside for extra warmth), two hats, a scarf, gloves and three pairs of socks with my boots (which are great as the soles really help grip icy surfaces and snow). No exaggerations here because when it gets down into the teens, that icy wind is no joke.

    Now surprisingly, our winter hasn’t been so bad this year as opposed to the previous two, that of which I am thankful for. While it’s been cold, it hasn’t been deadly cold. But February has just begun and we have 28 more days to go (thanks to Leap Year). And a lot can happen in those 28 days!

    Hahaha! And I like that last part you said. Once, some moron was poking fun at me at the bus stop because he saw I had all of my winter gear on and it was like 10 degrees outside and all he had was a jacket and a hat on, hands in pockets. I so badly wanted to say to him “Screw you! At least I’m not freezing my @$&%! off like you!!!” But I didn’t. I guess I’m too polite for my own good.

    Stay warm and dry! Looks like it rained there from your photos.

    • Salazar says:

      It’s funny because I know a German lady who’s been here a while and she had a story just like that. She told me some tourists were side-eyeing her because she was in full winter gear and they were in jeans and T-shirts, when it was like, 50 degrees out, and all the while she kept thinking “Yeah, side-eye me all you want, give it another day and you’ll see!”

      And yeah, it did rain. Rain + cold = not a good combination. I can deal with the cold when it’s dry, but add some rain and I’ll turn into a whiny baby.

      • Mike says:

        Yeah, it’s interesting at how different one’s perspective is depending on where in the world a person lives. It’s about 50 right now over here and it feels like a nice spring day (Still can’t believe that it’s February in Ohio). But where you are, 50 degrees probably feels like an arctic blast.

        And I’m so with you about the rain and cold. I don’t know what happens, but it seems that when it’s raining out and the temperature is cold, it manages to feel even colder than it really is somehow. And I’m not a big fan of getting chilblains (caused by cold moisture) because I didn’t cover up well when it’s rainy and cold. I’m a BIG baby when it comes to that, oh yeah!

  2. Jessica says:

    Oh my, I didn’t even consider that you don’t heat the indoors there. Wow..that is just downright cold.
    I love that brooch, it kind of reminds me of a cross between a joshua tree and a dogwood.

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, houses here are built for air circulation, not warmth, so it’s just not practical to have indoor heating. But we might have to reconsider it if this kind of weather pattern continues!

  3. momofdox says:

    No wonder you find it cold even in 40° temps! The year we installed new windows, we didn’t turn on the furnace until after the last window was put in – just before Thanksgiving. Lows were in the 20s, highs 40-50°. The ever-present Kansas wind blowing thru our unheated house meant that I wore hat, gloves, leggings, blanket, etc day and night. And I baked a lot. Ha ha! Hope your weather warms up soon so you can thaw out!

    • Mike says:

      I sort of know what you mean momofdox. Back at our old house before we moved, there was a constant arctic blast of cold air blowing through there during the winter and we were all walking around with hats, coats and scarves on just to keep warm. Turning the heat on was pointless because we were just wasting gas. And we slept in our winter coats because it was so cold at night. Talk about miserable!
      But it eventually worked out as we finally got new windows put in, which made a BIG difference!

  4. Oof. No heating anywhere AND rain? Yeah, I’d be bundled up, too. I find that the older I get the less I want to be outside in when it’s 40s/50s and raining. Although, funnily enough, when we get a cold snap in Chicago (when the temps are in the teens or lower) and then the next week we have a 40 degree day it feels amazing!

    And, yes, my feet are always the hardest to keep warm. Uggs are so…ugly, but they do work at keeping me warm!

    • Mike says:

      I’m the same way Erin. When I was younger, I could handle cold temperatures a lot better. But now…. :/

      And I hear you! It’s like that in Ohio here. The other day, we had temperatures in the low 60s, which feels pretty good for February. But now we’re back in the upper 30s, low 40s so the cold has returned.

      But yeah, when we get a cold snap here where it’s like 10 degrees outside, if we get temps in the 40s the following day, it’s a heat wave!


Leave a Reply

