Fallen Through The Cracks

white cableknit sweater wool jacket black jeans black boots by 14 shades of grey

I wasn’t going to post today, but as I looked through my photo folders, I found an outfit I haven’t posted yet. Surprise! To be honest, my brain was fried to a crisp after this crazy week, so the oversight is understandable.

Anyway, this outfit is quite appropriate because it fits the theme of Bri’s Third Thursday Thread link-up – Most Cherished Item (I’m a day late, but that’s OK – see “crazy week” above). For me there are actually two “cherished items” in this outfit. One is the tweed jacket I got from my mom – I’d been looking for a tweed blazer for a long time but could never find one, so when I found this in my mom’s old stuff, I had to ask her for it. The fit is a little boxier than I wanted, but I’ve come to love it.

The other item is this brooch. Actually I cherish all of my brooches, but this one is a little more special because it’s a gift from an actress in a short film I worked on. She’s really, really nice – one day I just mentioned randomly that I collected brooches, and the next day she showed up on set with this! It’s also a little different from what I usually wear (I tend to go for the enameled flowers/cameo type of brooches), but for the slightly equestrian feel of this outfit, it’s the perfect finishing touch.

white cableknit sweater wool jacket black jeans by 14 shades of greywool jacket black jeans black boots by 14 shades of grey

white cableknit sweater wool jacket brooch by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: Atmosphere, Jacket: hand-me-down, Jeans: Mango, Boots: Hush Puppies, Brooch: gift

2 Comments on “Fallen Through The Cracks”

  1. Mike says:

    I’m so with you on the crazy week thing Salazar. I’m looking forward to returning to my normal routine (at least for a little while) after being SUPER busy this week.

    You look so professional in your outfit Salazar! Your mom’s jacket is a great look for you and I like the “salt and pepper” look that it has, like those suit jackets from the 1950s almost.

    And the brooch adds just enough flair to really bring out your look. It’s perfect! I’d say that your two cherished items are just the thing that you needed for a professional, “business casual” look. Great job!

    Have a good weekend!

  2. Meghan @ Hayes Days says:

    While the jacket may be a little more boxy than what you were looking for, I really like it on you. I think it quite suits you and looks nice with this classic look.


Leave a Reply

