These Old Bones

plaid shirt linen blazer boyfriend jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

This has little to do with the outfit, but one of my New Year resolutions (I actually don’t have official “New Year resolutions”, I just have a few things that I want to change/try/keep doing in the new year) is to exercise more regularly. Nothing vigorous, just 15-20 minutes a day, to at least get my muscles moving. Because I’m terribly out of shape. How out of shape I am, you ask? Here’s proof: yesterday I pulled something in my hip just from stretching, and now it hurts like hell every time I try to sit down or stand up. So I’m going to have to put that exercising plan on hold for now.

And that also means flat shoes for me at least for a week. Gods, I’m such an old lady.

plaid shirt linen blazer boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of greyplaid shirt linen blazer leaf pins by 14 shades of grey

boyfriend jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Uniqlo, Blazer: Atmosphere, Jeans: Zara, Oxfords: Vagabond, Pins: Forever21

6 Comments on “These Old Bones”

  1. Mike says:

    Ugh… I know exactly what you mean Salazar. I am so out of shape. I can tell because when I’m walking up the stairs, by the time I get to the top, I’m huffin’ and puffin’. Now last year, I was getting better because I was working out more regularly. And like you said, nothing strenuous or anything; just 40-45 minutes on the exercise bike in my building’s little workout room. But after being a total “chow hound” over the holidays, I’ve since gotten out of rhythm and need to get it back. And I know what you mean about pain. When I wake up in the mornings sometimes, the heels of my feet hurt so bad that I can barely walk. I think it comes from years of just walking everywhere and having to mostly stand for my job the last 9 years. I’m such an old man at the vigorous old age of 32, ha! The title of your post is named appropriately as my knees crack a lot in the mornings too.
    Maybe we should both make a pact to start working out at least twice a week!

  2. btrflygl says:

    Check out yoga guys!

    Yoga with Adriene has some great free online videos you can do from the comfort of your own home too.

    That said, I’m in the same boat….always need to add more movement into my life.

    • Salazar says:

      It’s funny, but one of my friends who does yoga recommended the same video! My only problem is that I don’t think I have enough patience for yoga…

    • Mike says:

      Ah, I haven’t thought of that! I remember doing it a few times years ago in my early college days for a class. It was relaxing to do.
      Also, a friend of mine let me borrow a book on various gentle stretches that one can do that’s supposed to help relax tense or sore muscles. And in my line of work, stretching before hand is probably a must!

  3. btrflygl says:

    I hope you both check it out :).

    I go to a studio and it’s been my saving grace.


Leave a Reply

