Those We Left Behind

striped turtleneck maroon cardigan black jeans chelsea boots by 14 shades of grey

This isn’t going to be some deep retrospective about the end of a year and what we’ve lost and gained. No, this is an entirely materialistic post: I was thinking about stuff I was forced to leave behind when I moved home from the US, and what I wish I could’ve taken with me. Other than my books (oh so many books), the only thing I regret leaving was my vintage plaid skirt. Now though, I’m beginning to miss my black turtleneck sweater too. I got it cheap from Target, and foolishly thought that I wouldn’t need it at home. But after three winters, I’m beginning to see its virtue, especially as I’m getting bored with my scarves and having a hard time finding a solid black turtleneck. It’s always the case with me – I only need a seasonal item at the end of the season, when it’s no longer in stock. Oh well. Maybe next winter.

In the meantime, I’m going to make do with this striped turtleneck. It’s more difficult to layer than a solid black one, but I quite like it.

striped turtleneck maroon cardigan black jeans by 14 shades of greystriped turtleneck maroon cardigan long necklace by 14 shades of grey

maroon cardigan black jeans chelsea boots by 14 shades of greystriped turtleneck maroon cardigan black jeans chelsea boots by 14 shades of grey

Shirt, Cardigan & Necklace: local shops, Jeans: Mango, Boots: Din Sko

One Comment on “Those We Left Behind”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow, that’s rough Salazar, especially the part about the books. At one point, I had so many books, I could have opened a small bookstore. And in fact, I even took on the nickname “BookStore” because of this fact. But when my family and I moved, I couldn’t take them all with me so I donated most of them. I only kept the ones that I really liked and gave the rest to the library. I hated doing that but if someone else gets to enjoy them then I guess it was okay and that I could part with them.


Leave a Reply

