Weekly Capsule 50.1 & SIA: No Stress

black and white print dress herringbone jacket black boots by 14 shades of grey

I actually had a different outfit in mind when I picked out this week’s SIA inspiration, “Stressed Out” by Layla Holzer. It involves my black embroidered sweatshirt and brushstroke skirt, but when I put them together, they looked hella awkward, so I had to rethink the whole thing. I thought of my black-and-white Zara dress next, but I only wore it for special occasions. Then I realized I had the perfect special occasion for it – the award ceremony for our school’s film festival. Once I had the dress as my foundation, the rest of the outfit came together quite easily.

I’ll talk more about the film festival later in the week, but suffice to say, it was fun and not nearly as stressful as I thought (well, I didn’t have a lot of responsibilities to begin with…) Anyway, at least I got an SIA-appropriate outfit out of it.

black and white print dress herringbone jacket by 14 shades of grey

black and white print dress herringbone jacket brooch by 14 shades of greyblack and white print dress herringbone jacket black boots by 14 shades of grey

Check back tomorrow for the full round-up of all looks inspired by this lovely illustration!

Dress: Zara, Jacket: tailor, Boots: Esprit (hand-me-down), Brooch: vintage

6 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 50.1 & SIA: No Stress”

  1. Mike says:

    You look great Salazar! It sounds like you went through a great effort to put this look together but you managed to pull it off and it looks great for the SIA challenge! Looking forward to tomorrow!

    Yes, I want to hear more about the film festival. I’m glad that it wasn’t as stressful as you first thought it to be. I do that a lot; think that something is way too stressful, only to find out later that it wasn’t as bad as I first thought it to be.

  2. Ooh, I love love this outfit! Simple color scheme, but you really played with the different patterns and textures, and I love the result.

  3. Kezzie says:

    Wow, i can’t believe how perfect that jacket and dress are in tribute to the inspiration skirt!x

  4. I love how the dress evokes the skirt in the painting. Can’t wait to hear more about the film festival.

  5. Awwww, look at you getting that bit of blue in there with your brooch! So clever!

  6. Noelle says:

    I love how you interpreted it with a different silhouette that still is totally identifiable as inspired by the illustration. So good!


Leave a Reply

