Inspired By Marvel’s Ladies #2: Jessica Jones

herringbone jacket black jeans black chelsea boots by 14 shades of grey

Here’s the second look in my Marvel-themed week, inspired by Jessica Jones. The character has a very distinct and simple style – leather jacket, old jeans, and combat boots. I translated that into my own moto jacket, old jeans, and Chelsea boots. In the earlier episodes she also wears a scarf, which I added here. Of course I had to add my own touch (the brooch) but that’s why these outfits are only “inspired by” and not costume.

herringbone jacket black jeans black chelsea boots by 14 shades of grey

As for the show, like I said, it’s awesome. It is as tense as Daredevil (another Marvel’s Netflix show), though in a different way – Daredevil has this sense of impending doom about it, and you’re on the edge of your seat waiting for it to explode, whereas with Jessica Jones, it is more like a sense of desperation. The characters are so damaged and the odds against them are so huge that you don’t think they can succeed, but you want them to succeed so badly. Also, it is one of the most (if not the most) accurate depictions of an abusive relationship and its ripple effect that I’ve ever seen. Just… go watch it, OK?

herringbone jacket black jeans by 14 shades of greyherringbone jacket gray scarf tree brooch by 14 shades of grey

T-shirt: Uniqlo, Jeans: Mango, Jacket: tailor, Scarf: handmade, Brooch: local shop

5 Comments on “Inspired By Marvel’s Ladies #2: Jessica Jones”

  1. Mike says:

    An excellent inspirational outfit for you again Salazar! You got this look down! Great job!

    You know what? I think I will see if I can catch this show. From how you described it, it sounds like something that I would be interested in. Your last line is what sold me. I couldn’t help but smile at that. 🙂

  2. I love love this outfit! That jacket is gorgeous.

  3. Very cool. I love how you can see the sartorial influence and also see how it’s totally you. 🙂

  4. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style.

  5. […] This outfit is a direct copy of Jessica Jones’ signature look. Last winter, I wore an outfit inspired by her, but now that I’ve got the leather jacket, the jeans, and the boots, I […]


Leave a Reply

