SIA Inspiration: Layla Holzer

It’s again my turn to host SIA, and I picked this piece by illustrator Layla Holzer:

This is part of a series of illustrated interview answers that the artist did for Ghost Magazine. It’s called “Stressed Out”, and I picked it because I am, you guess it, quite stressed out at the moment. I’m working at our school’s film festival this week, meaning that all my other projects have to be put on hold. For a multi-tasker like me, and with the end of the year approaching, it’s no fun.

Appropriateness aside, I love the dark, fairytale-like quality of the piece, and hey, it’s already a complete outfit right there – the full skirt, black tights, and the red-and-green pattern on the top are all very seasonal – so it should be easy to interpret, at least for me anyway. So put together your best “stressed out” outfit (“stressed outfit”?) and send them to me (14shadesofgreyblog@gmail.com) by next Monday, December 14th. Have fun!

5 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Layla Holzer”

  1. Mike says:

    I can definitely relate to the title of this piece. It’s what I deal with every day.

  2. Noelle says:

    Well, heck. This is basically a snapshot of me in December. So, it’s pretty apropos. Cheers!

  3. […] week Salazar from 14 Shades Of Grey is curating the SIA challenge and she’s picked a great illustration for this time of year. A […]

  4. […] week Salazar from 14 Shades Of Grey curated the Style Imitating Art (SIA) challenge and she’s picked a great illustration for […]

  5. […] P.S. This outfit and post were partially inspired by this week’s choice for Style Imitating Art – “Stressed Out” by Layla […]


Leave a Reply

