Weekly Capsule 48.1 & SIA: Freedom From Want

blue lace sweatshirt white wool skirt brown booties by 14 shades of grey

I had a different outfit in mind for this week’s SIA, inspired by Norman Rockwell’s lovely holiday tableau, “Freedom from Want”. But then when I got up on Monday, the temperature suddenly dropped, and I had to scramble to put together a more weather-appropriate outfit. This is what I ended up wearing – it picks up the shades of white and blue and brown in the painting, as well as the floral motif on the wallpaper and the old woman’s dress, so I guess it works too.

The silhouette is a little more awkward than I’m used to – I normally would tuck in the top. But that looks bulky with this sweatshirt and skirt, and in the end I thought, To hell with it, this is comfortable, and it doesn’t look too awkward, so I’m wearing it. After all this is supposed to be a Thanksgiving outfit, and you have to wear comfortable clothes for Thanksgiving, right?

Don’t forget to swing by Jess’ blog for more sartorial interpretations of this painting!

blue lace sweatshirt white wool skirt by 14 shades of greyblue lace sweatshirt white wool skirt brown booties by 14 shades of grey

white wool skirt brown booties by 14 shades of greyblue lace sweatshirt by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: local shop, Skirt: Zalora, Boots: Topshop

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 48.1 & SIA: Freedom From Want”

  1. Mike says:

    It works very well Salazar. Your sweatshirt I think goes perfect with the wallpaper seen in the painting as well as the woman’s dress, so I think that it works well. And your shoes match the brown tones of the painting perfectly. Great job!

    And I agree. You should be comfortable during Thanksgiving dinner. I was. I don’t give a crap if people think that we should dress up. It was just my mom, my brother and I; very small gathering in our apartment, so we all wore comfortable clothing.

  2. Nouveau North Westerners says:

    I don’t think it looks awkward, it’s really nice, but I know what you mean. And the colours in your skirt and top work so well with the colours in the painting. I also really like the subtle brown/camel coloured boots and the trim on your skirt. The painting has so much warmth and I think this comes through in your outfit.

  3. Kezzie says:

    That top is super for this!

  4. Noelle says:

    I normally think shirts that are not tucked into skirts look awkward but, this really works. I think you hit on the right proportions to make it work.


Leave a Reply

