Weekly Capsule 44.1: Automne

black tee white skirt brown plaid scarf by 14 shades of grey

Did everybody have a fun Halloween? I didn’t dress up, because I didn’t have anywhere to go (Halloween is kind of a new thing here in Vietnam, mostly celebrated by teenagers who just want an excuse to party), but I did get into the spirit of Halloween by doing a Twilight Zone marathon. I’m such a homebody that I always prefer low-key celebrations to big parties. Even back when I lived in the US, most Halloweens I just hung out with friends and ate candies and watched scary movies.

Anyway, here’s my interpretation of this week’s SIA painting, “The Season” series by Alphonse Mucha. I picked the “Autumn” panel as my main inspiration – it’s most evident in my grape bunch brooch, to echo the grapes in the painting – but there is a bit of “Spring” in my white skirt as well. Not surprising, considering those are my favorite seasons.

black tee white skirt brown plaid scarf by 14 shades of greyblack tee white skirt brown plaid scarf brown heels by 14 shades of grey

black tee brown plaid scarf brooch by 14 shades of greywhite skirt brown heels by 14 shades of grey

If you want to participate in SIA and haven’t sent me your outfit yet, there’s still time! And don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the full round-up.

T-shirt: Uniqlo, Skirt: Zalora, Scarf: Candie’s, Shoes: thrifted, Brooch: local shop

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 44.1: Automne”

  1. Mike says:

    Hahaha…. I forgot that we’re back on standard time here in the US (Daylight savings ended this past Saturday) so now I can see your posts at 7am as opposed to 8am, as I always look forward to reading them.

    Anyway, this is late but Happy Halloween Salazar! I didn’t do much either for Halloween. Like with my birthday or other types of “celebration” days, I’m not much of a party person. I stayed home and watched “It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown” special on DVD and a few other things. I’m not much for the scary stuff so this was good enough for me. And I had some candy corn, the only candy that I really love to eat as I don’t care much for candy in general.
    So it was fun.

    You did great Salazar! Your outfit matches perfectly with the autumn painting. Autumn’s my favorite season too for a couple of reasons.

  2. Noelle says:

    I can definitely see both interpretations in your outfit. That skirt is so simple and beautiful just like the draped gowns the women are wearing.


Leave a Reply

