Weekly Capsule 43.2: Mr. Fox

white shirt black cardigan black pants brown heels by 14 shades of grey

For my book-inspired outfit this month, I picked Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi – it’s my favorite out of the bunch, and it’s also the easiest to style, or so I thought. In retrospect, perhaps I should’ve gone with the Flavia de Luce book, because it takes place in 1950 and I can put together a 1950’s-inspired look just like that. Mr. Fox, on the other hand, takes place in 1938 (or, at least the frame story of it does; the rest of the stories have various time settings), and I don’t have much 1930’s-inspired things in my closet, despite it being one of my favorite era, fashion-wise.

In the end, I decided to go with a simple and sharp black-and-white combo like on the cover, and my new fox sweater clips are the perfect finishing touch (no I didn’t buy them just for this outfit what are you talking about).

white shirt black cardigan black pants brown heels by 14 shades of greyblack pants brown heels by 14 shades of grey

white shirt sweater clips by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Sweater clips: local shops, Cardigan: Target, Pants & Shoes: thrifted

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 43.2: Mr. Fox”

  1. Mike says:

    Hey guess what Salazar? We nearly match today! For some odd reason, I chose to wear my white polo shirt instead of my black one, which I usually wear on Wednesdays. I have the black pants, the black cardigan sweater jacket and of course, my brown boots, as you’ve probably seen in my SIA photos. So without even realizing it, my attire is also inspired from “Mr. Fox”!

    And I agree. The 1930s era for styling is pretty awesome. I like the Victorian era myself.

  2. I like the clean lines on this look and love the fox sweater clips. They’re perfect.


Leave a Reply

