Weekly Capsule 40.4: Why I Don’t Have A Clothing Budget

navy print shirt mustard jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

I’ve got nothing to say about today’s outfit, which is just random top + whatever bottom and shoes I still have in the weekly capsule, so I’m going to talk about something a little more serious: clothing budget (and why I don’t have one.)

A lot of the blogs I follow have a post every month where they talk about what they buy and how they keep those purchases within their budget. I like those and had considered doing the same, when my shopping was getting a little excessive and I wasn’t happy with everything I bought. But when I tried giving myself $50/month (which is a lot considering what I make), I went over-budget every single month. What went wrong?

I realize that, the moment I gave myself a budget, it was like money burning in my pocket begging to be spent. My mindset is that “Oh I have that extra $50, I must buy something with it!” And once I started buying, it was hard to stop. In a way, it was like my capsule wardrobe experiment. By restricting myself, I only made myself think more about what I was not supposed to do, and it backfired.

So, instead of a budget, I try to be more conscientious about my shopping. I create a list of “holes in my closet” and when I come across an item on that list, I would consider it carefully before making a purchase. I guess restriction just never works with me, not in shopping or in dieting or in anything. I just have to be smarter about it.

navy print shirt mustard jeans by 14 shades of greynavy print shirt mustard jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

navy print shirt mustard jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greynavy print shirt copper necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Zara, Jeans: Cache, Shoes & Necklace: local shops

My outfits this week:

polka dot chambray shirt navy skirt brown heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greywhite lace tee mustard jeans leopard flats by 14 shades of grey

navy gingham shirt navy skirt leopard printed flats by 14 shades of greynavy print shirt mustard jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

6 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 40.4: Why I Don’t Have A Clothing Budget”

  1. kezzie says:

    I am terrible with restriction too! You sound like you’re very good about it though!! I truly love that shirt!x

  2. Mike says:

    I too struggle with the whole “restriction rules” that I often place on myself. It’s like I get a mindset to do one thing, but then end up doing something totally different when I get to that point. This mostly applies to my meal plans and leisure activities (like should I do my chores all in one day or spread them out over the course of my week off as opposed to doing what I really want to do).

    But as far as budgeting goes, I’ve gotten better with that, thanks to a simple but nice app that I have been using for almost a year now. It helps me decide if I should buy that extra book or not or if I should “brown bag” my lunch for a few more days until payday. I do occasionally break away from my rather rigid number crunching, but for the most part, I stay pretty disciplined.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Haha, I would totally be the same way if I had a clothing budget! I try to look at it in reverse and sort of say, “Whoa, I’ve been spending a bit much lately, time to take a break for a little while before I make any more purchases.”

    http://blog.breadandrosesvintage.com

  4. Jessica says:

    Very cute outfit and I love your shopping concept. I do sort of the same thing. 😀

  5. This outfit is one of my recent favorites — I love those pants every time you wear them, and it looks so good with the Oxfords and navy shirt. And the necklace is absolute perfection with the print of the top.

  6. thissnowleygirl says:

    I love your classy style!


Leave a Reply

