Weekly Capsule 40.1 & SIA: Bibliophile

polka dot chambray shirt navy skirt brown heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Here’s my interpretation of this week’s SIA, inspired by the “Be Kind to Books” poster. It’s pretty self-explanatory – I know there is no polka dot in the original poster, but the shade of blue of my shirt matches the blue in the poster exactly, so I couldn’t pass it up. The funny thing is, around the same time last year I wore a very similar outfit that could work for this SIA challenge as well, so this time I tried it with a different skirt and shoes. My mustard oxfords (RIP) would’ve been perfect, but alas, I had to make do with these brown pair. And of course, my book necklace is a must 🙂

Don’t forget to check Jen’s blog tomorrow for other outfits inspired by this work of art!

polka dot chambray shirt navy skirt brown heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greynavy skirt brown heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

polka dot chambray shirt book necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: tailor, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Belt: thrifted, Shoes: local shop, Necklace: self-made

3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 40.1 & SIA: Bibliophile”

  1. Mike says:

    Great interpretation Salazar! I like it. 🙂 And actually, your polka dot shirt works wonders here because the white dots sort of match the whites of the figures’ eyes. So I think you’re covered as far as capturing the true elements of the poster. Great job!
    And I LOVE the title of your blog post! That’s one of my favorite words to use because most people don’t know what it means, hahaha. 😛
    See you at tomorrow’s round up!

  2. Noelle says:

    I agree, I love how the polka dots imitate the eyes on the poster. Great job!

  3. […] co-founder Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey mixed chambray and navy together along with cognac accessories. Her book necklace is adorable and […]


Leave a Reply

