Weekly Capsule 39.2: The Girl On The Train

blue striped shirt black pleated skirt black pumps by 14 shades of grey

I thought long and hard about which of the books I’ve read this month would serve as an outfit inspiration. Nemesis is out of the question, not least of all because it takes place in Norway in late autumn and early winter. My favorite is Station Eleven, but since the story spans so many decades and locations, it’s difficult to pick one consistent theme to build an outfit around. So I sort of settled on The Girl on the Train by default.

It may not be the best book I’ve read, but at least it would be easier to get inspired. I could choose to dress like one of the three main characters, except I don’t really relate to anyone of them (one of the many flaws of the book), so in the end I decided to just dress like a commuter. And since I already commute every day – though on a bike, not the train – it means just wearing my normal clothes. I also picked this shirt to reflect the beginning of the book, when Rachel glimpses a pile of clothing on the side of the train tracks: “Light-blue cloth—a shirt, perhaps—jumbled up with something dirty white.” I don’t had any train-related accessory, so this house necklace would have to do. After all, Rachel is obsessed with the house she glimpses from the train. 

blue striped shirt black pleated skirt by 14 shades of greyblue striped shirt black pleated skirt by 14 shades of grey

black pleated skirt black pumps by 14 shades of greyblue striped shirt house necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Mango, Skirt: thrifted, Shoes: local shop, Necklace: my sister’s

7 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 39.2: The Girl On The Train”

  1. Mike says:

    Great look for you Salazar!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Clever!!! I like it muchly especially the house which reminds me of Monopoly!!x

  3. Mike says:

    I have one more thing to say in this post before I let it go. When I read that you commute to work on a bike, it reminded me of my own commute to work, which is by city bus. And as I was riding it in this morning, I began thinking that I wanted to write a little on this.

    I’m the kind of person that prefers a window seat, so that I can look out and watch passing buildings, trees, mailboxes and other stationary objects that speed by (and also in hopes of avoiding certain people). And you know how you get that really loud and obnoxious person on the bus every now and then who won’t shut up and feels like he has to talk to everyone in sight? Well, that was my experience this morning. And I’m kind of grumpy in the mornings until I fully wake up, so the last thing I need is for some passenger telling me his life story in full stereo volume that I’ll probably end up forgetting as soon as I step off. But I try to be polite, as I was always taught to be, and plaster on a smile in the hopes that my stop will be approaching soon. Thankfully, there were enough people on the bus today that I didn’t have to endure this. But other days, I do have to put up with it. So that’s sort of one of the downsides of bus commuting. What would you say would be the disadvantages of commuting by bike Salazar?

    • Salazar says:

      Ugh, those passengers are the worst. I commuted a lot by train and bus back in LA, but I don’t remember ever having to endure one of those. Maybe because I always had my headphones on and my nose buried in a book.
      And the disadvantages of commuting by bike? Well, how about the fact that every single other vehicle is actively trying to murder you? Traffic in Hanoi sucks, so actually public transportation is your best bet. I only bike because my work is close by.

      • Mike says:

        Tell me about it. And the guy that I described earlier isn’t even the worst of them.

        I’m so tempted to take out one of my books and hold it up to my face just so that I don’t have to deal with these kinds of people. I wouldn’t be reading as I can’t easily read and ride at the same time, but it would make for a nice distraction I suppose.

        I hear you there. Here in Akron, just being a pedestrian crossing the street is dangerous. We don’t have traffic laws here, we have traffic “suggestions”, as I call them because people pretty much choose which laws that they want to follow. And of course, you get the jackasses that like to scream out at you or give you the infamous “digital gesture” if they feel that you’re in their way when you’re crossing legally. Whatever, right?

        So yeah, I think public transportation works best for me. But if I were to ride a bike, I’d probably save close to $50 or more in bus fare a month. That $2.50 a day really adds up!

  4. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. I used to have a skirt like this when I was your age. I paired it with a red and white shirt. I think your version is better than mine was back then.


Leave a Reply

