Singapore Day 3

On my last morning in Singapore, I had a couple of hours before the airport shuttle arrived, so instead of rushing out to hit another tourist spot, I decided to just take a walk around the neighborhood. I stumbled upon the cutest residential street – what I find really interesting about Singapore’s townhouses is that they are all built over the pavement, to create a covered sidewalk that is perfect to walk under. Also, each house’s facade is decorated with colorful tiles and swing doors. Very pretty.

singapore street

singapore street

singapore street

singapore mailbox

singapore house

singapore catAnd of course, I found the local cat

I also wandered briefly through Chinatown. Apparently Singaporeans start their weekend really late, because it was 9 AM and most of the shops were closed, and the only people around were tourists and old people. I could only imagine how amazing it must be at night, with the lanterns all lit up and the market opened.

singapore chinatown

singapore chinatown

singapore chinatown

singapore chinatown

And that, sadly, was the end of my trip. It has been absolutely wonderful, and I was surprised that I like Singapore a lot more than I expected. It was not the boring concrete jungle that I thought, but a friendly, vibrant city with a great mix of cultures and a character of its own. Now I wish I could’ve stayed longer!

4 Comments on “Singapore Day 3”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow, that’s pretty amazing Salazar. So the townhouses are build over the sidewalks there? That’s great for those days when you want to get out of the sun while walking down the street but can still enjoy the beauty of the outside. I bet it’s just as nice looking on the inside as it is on the outside.

    I bet it’s pretty amazing to see the town at night with the lanterns on too. It looks like it could have that same vibe as those festivals they have in Japan; Bon festivals I think they’re called, with the lanterns and all.

    I’m glad that you had a great time and was able to get away for a bit. You got to experience the Singapore metro station with that colorful mural, got to see the city lights, walked through the Singapore Botanic gardens, visited Little India (of which I am very interested in), experienced what sounds like a great bookstore, got to see Dylan Moran at one of his shows, and ended with a nice walk in one of Singapore’s residential streets. It all sounds so great for such a short trip! Would you say that your itinerary was complete? It sure sounds like it! Thanks for sharing!

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, my itinerary was complete in the sense that I got to see all the places I planned to see (aside from Littered with Books), but the thing about traveling is that you’ll never know what’s really worth seeing until you get there – you may see something that interests you but is not in your plan. If I had more time I’d keep it more flexible for sure!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Those streets with houses like that are so pretty! I’m intrigued by Singapore after this!x


Leave a Reply

