SIA Inspiration: Franz Kline

For this week’s SIA, I picked something a little abstract – “Painting Number 2” by abstract expressionist Franz Kline:

Actually it was Jess’ skirt from last week’s SIA that reminds me of Kline’s work. The thing is, I didn’t remember his name (shh!) so I had to Google “black and white brushstroke painting”. Luckily “Franz Kline” is one of the first results, which goes to show how iconic his works are.

Anyway, the painting may look simple, but I think the stark contrast between the black and white and the texture offer a lot of room for interpretation. So get inspired and send me your outfit by next Monday, September 21st. Have fun!

One Comment on “SIA Inspiration: Franz Kline”

  1. Mike says:

    Oooh, nice pick Salazar! I like this one. And I think I’ve heard of Franz Kline. We briefly spoke of his work in one of my art history classes in college. I distinctively remember this one.


Leave a Reply

