Singapore Day 2

My second day in Singapore began with me rolling out of bed amid groaning and cursing because my feet have swollen from walking the previous night (I’m terribly out of shape, in case you can’t tell). But I sucked it up because I knew I had a full day of exploring ahead of me, starting with —

10 AM: the Singapore Botanic Gardens. I love nature, so I always look for the botanic gardens in every town I visit if possible. It’s a nice place to hang out, it’s usually free, and there are tons of pretty things to look at. And Singapore Botanic Gardens check all of those boxes.

singapore botanic gardens

singapore botanic gardens

singapore botanic gardens

Also, make sure to check out the Orchid Garden – it costs only S$5, and totally worth it.

singapore botanic gardenssingapore botanic gardens

singapore botanic gardens

singapore botanic gardens

singapore botanic gardens

1 PM: There were still a lot of places at the Gardens that I haven’t seen, but I wanted to visit Little India, so I headed off.

And I’m telling you, Little India is a whole different world. The vibrant sights and sounds and smells are like nothing I’ve experienced before.

singapore little india

singapore little india

singapore little india

singapore little india

singapore little india

singapore little india

I also dropped by Haji Lane, a little side street with charming boutiques nestled between eclectic coffee shops and bars. It actually reminds me a lot of the Old Quarter of Hanoi.

singapore haji lane

singapore haji lanesingapore haji lane

singapore haji lane

singapore haji lanesingapore haji lane

singapore haji lane

5 PM: Before the trip, I’ve heard about this bookstore called Books Actually that is not far from my hostel, so now I headed there. It’s a cool place, but they don’t carry any of the authors that I usually read (it’s mostly poetry, art/design, and local authors), so I just spent my time wandering between the shelves enjoying that bookstore vibe.

singapore books actually

singapore books actually

singapore books actually

I wish I was able to go to Littered with Books as well, but the show started at 8 PM and I needed to pick up my ticket at 7, so I went back to the hostel for a much-needed shower and some dinner.

7 PM: Arrived at Nation University of Singapore’s Cultural Center Hall for the Dylan Moran show. So excited!!!

singapore dylan moran

I could fill an entire post with my rambling about the show, but I’ll try to keep this short with a few bullet points:

– It was hilarious (of course). I love his rants about middle age and about getting pets for his kids, and his version of 50 Shades (yes, really!) had me in stitches.

– One of his jokes is how fat he’s gotten since he quit smoking, but even from my nosebleed seat, I could see that he looks trimmer, younger, and healthier than he did in photos.

– I’m only bummed that they didn’t sell his little picture books after the show. I’ve always loved his doodles.

P/S: I sat next to a family – parents and two kids, both under 10. I wish my parents were that cool. Those kids are going to be awesome when they grow up.

singapore dylan moranAnd that concludes my second Singapore post. Last one to come next week!

3 Comments on “Singapore Day 2”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow, Salazar! The 2nd day of your trip sounds even more fun and exciting than your first (except for the swollen feet, but you did better than me as I know that I’m out of shape and probably couldn’t have done so much walking). Those botanical gardens are my kind of place. They remind me of some of our parks that we have here in Akron as they sort of combine the elements of a park with those of a garden, and it’s really beautiful.

    I’m especially intrigued by Little India. Based on the pictures that you took, it looks like it could be a “mini” version of actual India (of which I have always wanted to visit). I bet it was like a whole different world, like actually being in the country of India, right? So awesome!

    And who doesn’t love a bookstore, right? I get that whole “feeling the vibe of a bookstore”, even if they don’t have what you like there.

    And of course you ended your day with the best part in going to see Dylan Moran! It kind of sucks that you weren’t able to get a closer seat, but at least you got a bird’s eye view of the stage and the auditorium and sometimes that can be just as fun!

    Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to part 3!

  2. Kezzie says:

    When you talk about those kids being awesome, are you being sarcastic as they were awful or genuine because they were so well behaved?
    The Botanical gardens look divine!!!!x

    • Salazar says:

      Oh no, I’m being totally genuine. And not because they were well-behaved (though they were, very much), but because I think any kid who can appreciate Dylan Moran at such a young age will no doubt grow up to be awesome.


Leave a Reply

