Singapore Packing List

Like I said on Monday, last weekend I went on an exciting trip to Singapore. It was exciting because 1) it’s been ages since I traveled, 2) I’ve never been there before, and 3) I went to see Dylan Moran’s stand-up show!!!

Yeah. This is pretty much my reaction when I found out Dylan Moran was coming to Singapore:


He’s going to be on the same continent as me!

After some debating (meaning looking up flights to see if I could afford it), I decided to go. I booked the trip nearly 4 months in advance, so you can imagine how impatient I was. It also meant I had a lot of time to think about what to pack. Finally, this is what I settled on for a 3-day trip (actually it was more like 2 days, I arrived late on Friday and left early on Sunday):

doddle

I doodled this in July, when I proctored my school’s entrance exam. Like I said, I had a lot of time to think about it.

The list includes: 2 tees, 1 chambray shirt, 2 pairs of pants (jeans & linen), 1 dress + 1 necklace (for the show – I didn’t know if people would dress up or not but I wanted to), 1 cardigan + 1 scarf (for the plane), and 1 pair of slip-on sneakers. At the last minute, I also added my sandals just in case. And I’m glad I did, because after the first day of walking, my toes were screaming in the sneakers, so the sandals really came in handy.

I’m also glad that I packed the linen pants. It was super hot and humid (I didn’t account for the fact that Singapore is on the equator), and if it wasn’t for them, I would’ve died sightseeing in my jeans. So yeah, even though I don’t want to over-pack, sometimes it’s better to just be prepared.

More Singapore posts to come later this week!

2 Comments on “Singapore Packing List”

  1. Meghan @ Hayes Days says:

    Being prepared is a different beast than over-packing. You packed a pair of pants to swap out, it’s not like to packed an entire additional outfit or two.

  2. Mike says:

    Wow Salazar! That’s so awesome that you got to see Dylan Moran in person!!! I know that he’s a favorite of yours.
    I’m happy to hear that you finally got to travel somewhere. And from the sounds (and looks) of it, you went well prepared. Love your drawings by the way. 🙂
    Yeah, Singapore is known for its hot and humid weather. It’s right smack on the equator. You can’t get much closer to the “line of fire” (what I like to call the equator) than that, unless you count Pontianak, Indonesia, also known as “Equator City” because it’s right on the “line of fire”; even closer than Singapore is.

    But anyway…

    Being over prepared is sometimes the best way to be prepared, especially traveling to a place you haven’t been before.
    Looking forward to hearing about your adventures in Singapore in the future!


Leave a Reply

