Weekly Capsule 34.3: Schoolmarm/girl

white shirt navy skirt brown loafers heels by 14 shades of grey

This is what I wore for my first solo class this semester (I have been teaching several classes but always in conjunction with older professors; this is the first time I’m on my own). Considering I dress like a schoolmarm most of the time, it didn’t take me long to put this together. My only qualm is that it might look “schoolgirl” instead of schoolmarm with the white button-up and navy skirt, but then I saw this outfit featuring the exact same skirt, and I thought I’d be fine. The class went well (I showed a collection of Pixar short films, which I always do with every beginners’ class), everything was good.

Then, after class, I went to my sister’s place for lunch, and as I got into the elevator, a very nice old lady turned to me and asked “What grade are you in?”

*Facepalm*

I was tempted to tell her I was in high school, but my poker face is not good enough. So I told her I was in college instead. Which is not a lie. Technically.

white shirt navy skirt brown loafers heels by 14 shades of greywhite shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of grey

white shirt navy skirt watch by 14 shades of greynavy skirt brown loafers heels by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Shoes: local shops, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Belt: thrifted, Watch: Swatch (gift)

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 34.3: Schoolmarm/girl”

  1. jaymieashcraft says:

    Pretty look, love the skirt.
    Jaymie
    http://www.jaymieashcraft.com
    I’d love for you to join me tomorrow for my Fridays Fashions link up. 🙂

  2. Meghan @ Hayes Days says:

    I don’t think you dress like a school marm! You dress cute and everything you wear is super flattering. Congrats on your first solo class. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  3. Mike says:

    I think that you look great Salazar. Very professional as any professor should look when they are teaching. Glad to hear again that your first solo class went well. I knew that you would be okay. Hope to hear more about your teaching adventures in the near future.
    And by the way, I love your reply to that lady. Nice way to smooth it over without actually lying. 🙂

  4. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. Great look!


Leave a Reply

