Weekly Capsule 34.1 & SIA: Air France

chambray shirt black pants brown heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

This week’s SIA inspiration, the 1960 Air France poster by illustrator René Gruau, is perfect for a breezy summer vacation look. Sadly for me, the school year has started, which means I’m back to work and have to dress accordingly. So after some thinking, I decided to go for a simple chambray shirt + black jeans look to mimic the blue and black in the poster, my belt and brooch are a nod to the yellow hat, my heels are a match to the woman’s tan, and of course, I had to include a hat, even if it’s not a beach hat like the one in the poster (a beach hat would’ve looked a little ridiculous with this, don’t you think?) I wish I could have put together something to capture that French Riviera feel of the poster, but all in all, I’m happy with this.

Don’t forget to drop by Jen’s blog to see the full round-up of outfits inspired by this poster!

chambray shirt black pants by 14 shades of greychambray shirt black pants brown heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

black pants brown heeled loafers by 14 shades of greychambray shirt yellow flower brooch by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt boater hat by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Esprit, Pants: Calvin Klein, Shoes & Hat: local shops, Brooch: vintage

3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 34.1 & SIA: Air France”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that you did great Salazar! It’s a nice interpretation. I think that we were thinking along the same lines with this one as I have a slightly similar look in my interpretation. I was surprised that I was able to pull off the yellow part as yellow is definitely not my color. You’ll see it tomorrow. Love the hat by the way!

  2. Kezzie says:

    That’s a gorgeous interpretation Salazar! I really like it. You are my brooch inspiration- you have some reallly lovely ones! I’ve been trying to wear brooches most days this holiday- I have a vintage flower collection like your ones you wore for the last SIA which I found in a thrift shop but I’d love one like this one too! My interpretation is er- interesting! I forgot about it but found something in my photo collection from last week that will do!x

  3. […] is SIA co-founder Salazar from 14 Shades of Grey, with another great straw hat! The yellow brooch is absolutely perfect for the inspiration poster, […]


Leave a Reply

