SIA Inspiration: Amanda Smith

Look at the incredible details and colors on this painting, “Hot Punch“. Can you guess the medium?

It’s ceramic! That’s right, it’s the work of ceramic artist Amanda Smith. Her works (I hesitate to call them paintings, because they’re so much more than that) often feature young girls wearing colorful dresses in darkly surreal, fairytale-like scenes, so of course I love them. Even though I know I would have a hard time putting together an outfit inspired by this from my largely neutral wardrobe, I know I have to choose it for SIA – it’s really hard to pick just one, I tell you!

Anyway, if you want to participate, make sure to send me your outfit posts and/or photos to 14shadesofgreyblog@gmail.com by next Monday, August 10th. Enjoy!

One Comment on “SIA Inspiration: Amanda Smith”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow, I never would have guessed that the medium was ceramic! The colors are so bright and vivid. It does sort of remind me of a fairly tale. It has that certain look, like it should be an illustration in a children’s book. I love that “jungle” background. It has a 3-dimensional look to it.
    Great pick!


Leave a Reply

