Weekly Capsule 30.3: The Notebook

ikat shirt black pants black slip-ons by 14 shades of grey

As I said last week, this year I had to be proctor twice for our school’s entrance exams. Last week I was assigned to the art and design room, which wasn’t so bad. Yeah, you still have to sit there for hours staring at the students, but they are drawing, so at least it’s fun to watch. This time, though, I was assigned to the film analysis room. It was horrifying. It’s an 8-hour exam – the students watch a movie, twice, in the morning, then they have a one-hour lunch break, and in the afternoon they have three hours to write an essay about that movie. You may think, oh, that’s not too bad, at least you get to watch a movie, right? Except that movie is The Notebook, the sappiest of all sappy romances. And I had to sit through it. Twice. Followed by three hours staring into nothingness.

If you’ve been reading here for a while, you know how I feel about romantic films. Unless they’re British and preferably take place about 200 years ago, I don’t have much patience for them. I’m going to have to watch Pride and Prejudice (the 1995 mini series, thank you very much) or North & South to feel like myself again.

ikat shirt black pants by 14 shades of greyikat shirt black pants wrap bracelet by 14 shades of grey

ikat shirt black pants black slip-ons by 14 shades of greyblack pants black slip-ons by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: C-Wonder, Pants: thrifted, Sneakers: local shop, Bracelet: self-made

7 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 30.3: The Notebook”

  1. Meghan @ Hayes Days says:

    I don’t know if I could sit through the notebook twice. Or ever again for that matter. Emotional commercials make me cry. My husband thought it would be a “good idea” for me to watch the Notebook. WRONG. I cried so hard for the old man.

  2. Wow – an 8 hour exam sounds terrifying – even the film portion would be stressful, because you’d be madly trying to remember every little detail in case you want to refer to something in your essay later. Do the students know in advance what the essay questions might be? I’m thankful entrance exams aren’t a regular feature in my country – too intense for me!

    • Salazar says:

      Well, they just know in general that they’re going to have to write about specific aspects of the film according to which major they’re applying to – if they’re going to major in screenwriting then they’ll have to write about the story, and so on – but otherwise the whole thing is kept under wraps. I agree that it’s super stressful for everybody involved!

  3. Mike says:

    Mega strength to you Salazar. I couldn’t imagine having to sit there for hours with nothing to do but watch a movie that you hate. And to do it twice?? You’ve got some strength. The art room doesn’t sound too bad. If there were pieces of art hanging on the walls, you could sit there and imagine all kinds of stuff happening with the art.
    Now, I don’t know about The Notebook as I haven’t seen it, but I can imagine having to sit there watching a movie, like say Citizen Kane. I know that it’s a classic and that one of the reasons that it is a classic is due to the phenomenal filming and editing that was used in it. But I had to watch that thing at least 2 or 3 times in a row for an exam/final project once and after the 3rd time, I was ready to pull my hair out. 😛

  4. Anna says:

    Love the look! As for the movie, seen it once, yes it’s romantic and sad but I can’t understand all the fuss about it!! (I felt that way for the Titanic too) And yes I loved too the Pride and Prejudice mini series (and that book is my favorite). The series where far better than the movie staring Kiera Knightley!

  5. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. This shirt is very chic.


Leave a Reply

