Weekly Capsule 30.2: Beauty Routine

gray t-shirt white jeans snakeskin slip-ons by 14 shades of grey

Today’s outfit is super simple and doesn’t inspire any interesting writing, so I’m going to talk about something else. The other day, I just read on a style forum some comments criticizing a blogger for not having a pedicure. A pedicure, I tell you! To be fair, other commenters are quick to defend the blogger – the consensus is that the nails only need to be clean and healthy. But it got me thinking. Is that what you have to do to be presentable now? I’m not just talking about style bloggers; I mean everyday people too. Does every woman have to primp herself up from literal tips to toes before she can show herself lest the world recoils at her unpainted nails and bare face? Because I don’t. I’ve never even painted my nails. I don’t wear make-up, save for the occasional swipe of tinted lip balm. My hair takes less than thirty seconds to “style”. I’m not a slob, but I’m very much of the opinion that as long as your appearance is clean and tidy, you don’t need anything else.

This is not a dig at anyone who likes to put a lot of efforts into their appearances, you understand. I’m just kind of baffled that someone would expect such efforts from other people (or, more exactly, other women. Men don’t have to deal with that shit, do they?)

gray t-shirt white jeans by 14 shades of greygray t-shirt white jeans by 14 shades of grey

white jeans snakeskin slip-ons by 14 shades of greygray t-shirt long necklace by 14 shades of grey

T-shirt: Zalora, Jeans: Calvin Klein, Necklace & Sneakers: local shops

5 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 30.2: Beauty Routine”

  1. Mike says:

    I am so with you on this Salazar! From a man’s POV, I have to say that one’s hygiene and appearance is important. People think that most men are sloppy and unkempt. But I’m not. I am always very neat and clean, and I spend a considerable amount of time to make sure of that. But you’re right Salazar. A woman shouldn’t feel compelled to have to put on makeup or paint her nails because other people think that she should. If she chooses to do that, that’s okay. But if she doesn’t, that should be okay too. I’m sick of today’s society throwing all this crap in our faces about how we should look or behave. It’s like you said; as long as you are neat and presentable, you are okay. And let me tell you that you ALWAYS look more than presentable Salazar. Whether casual or professional, you always have a very neat appearance. And that’s good enough for me.

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks Mike! I shouldn’t have been so surprised though. Back when I just finished grad school, a friend of mine went into a job interview and was told she needed to wear more make-up. I was so mad when she told me the story!

      • Mike says:

        You’re welcome Salazar! I mean it. You always look nice. 🙂
        But I don’t blame you for being mad about what your friend told you. That’s just so ludicrous. My friend (who I walk with on our daily lunchtime walks and who finds the paintings for SIA inspirations) and I often talk about this. She doesn’t wear makeup or paints her nails either and is happy and satisfied with the way that she looks. That is one of the things that I respect about her so much. We say that it’s important for a person to look neat and have good hygiene (both men and women), but that we don’t have to look like models or body builders to look good. Like for me, I know that I’m never going to be the next Michael Jordan. For one thing, I’m too short for basketball. But I don’t want to be the next. I’m satisfied with being me. I’m not going to be a “slave” to society’s expectations for appearance. And no one else should feel that they have to be either.

  2. kezzie says:

    I’m the same as you in that respect. I can’t believe someone was criticized for that!!! Unbelievable!x

  3. I used to find it surprising when beauty and lifestyl
    e vloggers would apologize in videos for their messy hair, or for not having makeup on, or for having a chipped manicure. It seemed odd to me that someone would apologize to strangers for their appearance. But, I’ve since seen the kinds of comments you mentioned, and I’ve realized just how critical some viewers can be. It’s sad that people feel they need to justify their appearance. I understand that for some vloggers/bloggers their appearance is part of their job, but that should still give them the freedom to choose that appearance. I think unfortunately that some people just make themselves feel better by making other people feel bad, which is a sad state of affairs all around.


Leave a Reply

