Weekly Capsule 29.1: Green On Green

green floral dress green shoes by 14 shades of grey

I wore this last week to a party celebrating Bastille Day at the French embassy here in Hanoi (my dad works with them and I tagged along). It was fun, the food was amazing, and it was great seeing people all dressed up. Sure, my dress is a little day-time – my black floral dress may be more appropriate – but this one has pockets, so it saves me from having to carry a clutch. Not that I have a clutch to begin with.

green floral dress green shoes by 14 shades of greygreen floral dress necklace by 14 shades of grey

green floral dress by 14 shades of greygreen floral dress green shoes by 14 shades of grey

Dress: Banana Republic, Heels: thrifted, Necklace: Lia Sophia

And here are some blurry phone photos of the evening. Next year, if I do go, I may suck it up and bring my camera with me, since there are a lot of pretty dresses to be photographed (I feel a bit like a creep sneaking photos on my phone; an actual camera feels more legit – and better photos too.)

bastille day party by 14 shades of greybastille day party by 14 shades of grey

bastille day party by 14 shades of grey

bastille day party by 14 shades of greybastille day party by 14 shades of grey

bastille day party by 14 shades of grey

bastille day party by 14 shades of grey

5 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 29.1: Green On Green”

  1. Mike says:

    It looks like a grand gala event Salazar. Thanks for sharing the photos. Your story about taking photos reminds me of a woman that I heard about not too long ago named Vivian Maier. Have you heard of her? She was an American street photographer as well as a nanny back in the 1950s and 1960s. She took over 150,000 photos during her lifetime, many of them candid shots as many never realized that they were being photographed. I have heard that she always had her camera with her, worn around her neck and would take just normal, ordinary photos of ordinary people walking down the street, or those that you wouldn’t ordinarily see photographed, such as those who are down on their luck hanging out near shops; bums in other words.
    For a while, some of her photographs were displayed at our art museum here in Akron and I was lucky enough to have gone and view some of them there. Most intriguing I must say. She recently died in 2009 at the age of 83.

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, I’ve heard of her and seen some of her photos floating around the web. They say she was like the precursor to all the street style photographers now. It’s a really cool story.

      • Mike says:

        Yep, some of her photos were really amazing and haven’t been seen by anyone until recently. I saw the documentary on her called Finding Vivian Maier, released back in 2013. A very cool story about her life.

  2. Anna D Kart says:

    Lovely print on that dress! You look so chic

    Happy Medley

  3. It looks like the fabric was weighty enough to be dressy enough for the event. Plus black heels make anything dressier. Looks like so much fun.That food looks amazing too.


Leave a Reply

