Weekly Capsule 28.1 & SIA: The Hundred Dresses

c

For this week’s SIA, hosted by Jen and inspired by Eleanor Estes’ “The Hundred Dresses” as well as Louis Slobodkin’s lovely illustrations, I picked this simple chambray dress. In the book, Wanda (the girl who claims to own a hundred dresses) is described as such: “She always wore a faded blue dress that didn’t hang right. It was clean, but it looked as though it had never been ironed properly“, so I thought it would be perfect. I finished off the outfit with the loafers and the house necklace to add to the “schoolgirl” feel.

Alas, the very thing that makes this dress perfect for this SIA challenge also means that I have to rethink its place in my closet. I bought it last year, but now it already felt too young and too twee for me. I’m going to put it away for now and see if I can layer with more grown-up pieces in the fall… if not, my niece is going to have one more dress waiting for her 🙂

Don’t forget to check Jen’s blog for other outfits inspired by this book!

chambray dress brown belt by 14 shades of greychambray dress brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

chambray dress necklace by 14 shades of grey

Dress: Mango, Necklace: my sister’s, Loafers: Footglove

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 28.1 & SIA: The Hundred Dresses”

  1. Mike says:

    Ironically enough, even though I work in a library, I have never seen or heard of this book until you posted it. I love children’s books and this one sounds interesting so I’m going to try and look for it in our stacks. I like the cover of the book.
    You look nice as always Salazar. 🙂

  2. Amy Johnson says:

    What a great dress! I love that style!


Leave a Reply

