SIA: Cat On A Chair

It’s another week of SIA, and everybody brought out their best neutrals to interpret “Cat on a Chair” by Théophile Steinlen. Hit it, ladies (and gentleman)!

First, we have Mike, a long-time reader of 14 Shades of Grey. He’s participated in the challenge hosted by Jen a couple of weeks ago, and he’s now back with this simple look. I love how the background mimics the background of the painting too:

week12_salazar_steinlen_mike

Jen’s breezy summer outfit has a lot of great details – like the beading on her tunic and the woven straps of her sandals – to reflect the painting. Check out her post for close-ups as well as pictures of her cats:

Jen’s friend and co-worker, Stephanie, doesn’t have a lot of warm-weather neutrals (I have the opposite problem) but she still managed to put together this sharp look:

week12_salazar_steinlen_stephanie

Kezzie thinks she looks too twee, but I’d say she looks adorable, as always. And the tweed is the perfect match to the tabby cat:

week12_salazar_steinlen_kezzie

Alison adds the perfect Art Nouveau touch to her minimalist outfit with this awesome Klimt scarf:

And finally, here’s me:

white striped tee grey slouchy pants brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

And that wraps up another successful SIA! Big thanks to everybody for participating, and check back next week for another new inspiration, courtesy of Jen.

8 Comments on “SIA: Cat On A Chair”

  1. Wow, again, such very different interpretations! Strappy sandals was definitely a theme… and Kezzie in a summer tweed? Genius! 🙂

    • Salazar says:

      I didn’t even notice that! I guess the straps mimic the background of the chair so well, which is why they’re so popular.
      And yes, isn’t that tweed dress the bomb?

  2. Mike says:

    Everyone looks great! And big thanks to Salazar for letting me participate in SIA. A little disclaimer about my pic. The background that you see is actually our living room rug that I had pinned up behind me. It more closely mimics the photo that Salazar has posted of her cat last week rather than the painting. Opps! But the design of the rug I thought was perfect for the white lines that I saw in the photo. And what was funny about this is that right after the photo of me was taken, the rug fell on my head! So, a rather humorous blunder on my part, but I had fun setting this all up just the same!

  3. Kezzie says:

    Hello! Sorry, I’ve had several very late nights so just making it here now! I love the different looks- everyone had great neutrals as you mentioned! Mike’s rug story is hilarious- great attention to detail! I ALMOST bought a tee like yours tonight- I was contemplating it and realise it was very like yours. I didn’t buy it in the end as it wasn’t cotton though!
    x

  4. […] last week’s Style Imitating Art (SIA) round-up on Salazar’s 14 Shades of Grey blog, Stephanie wore a cute and casual summer outfit. She put together a dark teal t-shirt, a brown […]

  5. […] featured another of Steinlen’s cat paintings (“Cat on a Chair“) on SIA before. This time, Jen picked this poster for its fall-appropriate colors, and also […]


Leave a Reply

