Weekly Capsule 21.1: Hot-Air Balloon

hot-air balloon shirt white khaki pants magenta flats by 14 shades of grey

Look at this, you guys. I’m wearing colors! And a print that is not stripes or polka dots! What is going on?

Seriously though, the outfit is not that different from what I usually wear. Even the shirt, despite the colorful print, is primarily navy. However, it’s been a while since I actually wore something other than black/blue/grey/white, so it’s pretty exciting (is it lame being excited over an outfit? I don’t care.)

When I saw the print of this shirt, I knew it would fit right in with my growing collection of “quirky button-ups”, and the fact that it’s made from super soft, breathable fabric just sealed the deal. It was a bit tricky deciding what shoes to wear with it – I don’t think brown or even black shoes go with the shirt (this was one of the times that the “no black + navy” rule actually applies); and nude shoes look boring. In the end, I pulled the pink/purple color from the print and matched it to my flats. A good choice, even if I do say so myself.

hot-air balloon shirt white khaki pants by 14 shades of greyhot-air balloon shirt white khaki pants magenta flats by 14 shades of grey

hot-air balloon shirt white khaki pants magenta flats by 14 shades of greyhot-air balloon shirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Pants: Zara, Flats: Payless

5 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 21.1: Hot-Air Balloon”

  1. kezzie says:

    That shirt really is gorgeous!!! I love it combined with the shoes. X

  2. Mike says:

    It’s nice to add a little bit of color to your outfit every now and then. That’s what I’m going to do when I participate in this week’s SIA as I usually wear just black and gray colors.
    You look great Salazar! And is it just me, or does it look really hot there in Hanoi right now? The background behind you looks very glary and fuzzy, like it’s really humid there.

    • Salazar says:

      I took these photos early in the morning before I go to work, hence the glare. But yeah, it is hotter than Hades over here (which is one of the reasons I take photos in the morning, as opposed to late in the afternoon after I get home from work) – it’s around 100F most days.

      • Mike says:

        Ah, that’s understandable. Yeah, the sun, being lower on the horizon would create that “glare” effect in the morning. I get that. But wow! 100 degrees! That makes our 80s sound like a cool, chilly day almost. But I’m glad that it did warm up here finally. It feels like it should for May and not like October. Stay cool!


Leave a Reply

