SIA Inspiration: Childe Hassam

A new week, a new SIA challenge! This time Jen is the curator, and seeing how it is Memorial Day in the US, she picks “The Avenue in the Rain” by American Impressionist Childe Hassam:

Showing the American flags on a New York street and being displayed in the Oval Office? I cannot think of anything more appropriate for Memorial Day. Except that it would be appropriate for the Fourth of July as well. I love the somber feel of the painting, and the texture is pretty incredible too. So if you’re inspired like me, put together your best red, white, and blue, and send your outfits to Jen (librarianforlifestyle@gmail.com) by next Monday. Enjoy!

3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Childe Hassam”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow! Great choice for this week’s painting Salazar! Yep, it is quite appropriate for our Memorial Day holiday, which is today. I haven’t seen this one. I love the impressionist style and how the images are depicted. Great choice! And I agree. I think that this would be great for our 4th of July holiday that’s coming up in a few months as well.
    I actually have the perfect shirts for this, so if it’s okay, I’d like to participate in this week’s SIA event as well.


Leave a Reply

