Weekly Capsule 20.1 & SIA: Green Floral

green dress beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

I wasn’t going to buy this dress. It’s a little short for me, and too twee for my style now. But pockets, you guys! It has pockets! And sleeves. And is made of breathable fabric. Those seem like such normal things, don’t they? Yet you cannot believe how many dresses I see in stores are sleeveless/pocketless polyester nightmares. So yeah, this may be a bit too playful for work, but it’s more wearable than a lot of dresses in my closet right now. The fact that it’s the perfect shade of green for this week’s SIA helps too. (Pockets, though. It is always my weakness when it comes to dresses and skirts.)

green dress by 14 shades of greygreen dress flower brooch by 14 shades of grey

I do realize the painting has quite a bit of pink that is missing in my outfit, but for the outfit itself, I think the green is enough and I can’t bring myself to accessorize with any brighter color than the soft pink of my brooch. Besides, there is plenty of pink in our garden already 🙂

green dress beige sandals by 14 shades of greygreen dress by 14 shades of grey

The full SIA round-up post is tomorrow, so don’t forget to check back!

Dress: Banana Republic, Sandals: Clarks, Brooch: vintage

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 20.1 & SIA: Green Floral”

  1. Mike says:

    You did a great job Salazar! The green that you’re wearing is a perfect match for the green found in the painting and the pink flowers in the background more than cover all the pink that’s in “The Green Cage”. Great job! Thanks again for featuring my suggestion in your SIA inspiration for this week. I really appreciate it.
    The other day, I went to go see the real one at the museum. And as good as the copy is that I found outside, it doesn’t do the real thing justice. You can see the texture of the paint on it and the color seems more vibrant, probably because it remains inside and not giving the sun’s rays a chance to fade the colors. All in all, it was pretty awesome to see.
    If I see any female artists that are on display here in Akron, I’ll send them your way.
    Thanks again!

  2. Ooooh I love that dress, the color and pattern are gorgeous! Totally with you when it comes to sleeves and pockets, very important things when looking for a dress. My post is up, hopefully I haven’t taken the theme too literally! Here is my post: http://nouveaunorthwesterners.com/2015/05/17/style-imitating-art-the-green-cage-by-richard-e-miller/

  3. Quite lovely, especially with the brooch. It’s a really beautiful dress — and pockets, yesssss! I wore a dress with pockets the other day, and Stephanie was taking pics. When I put my hands in my pocket, she yelled out, “Stop bragging!” 😉


Leave a Reply

