SIA Inspiration: Richard E. Miller

For this week’s SIA, I picked “The Green Cage” by American Impressionist, Richard E. Miller:

I’ve never heard of Miller before, but when a reader, Mike, emailed me about this painting, I thought it would make a perfect inspiration for some late spring/early summer outfits, with its soft shades of green, pink, white, and purple. Yes, it’s by a male artist, and we are trying to feature more female artists here, but Miller was known for his sunny, idyllic depictions of women, so I figure it’s still a good addition to SIA. Also, it’s a part of Akron Art Museum’s “Inside Out” program, which displays replicas of the museum’s collection around the city. You can see the painting on location here – how cool is that?

So remember to send me your outfit photos and/or posts by next Monday, May 18th. Enjoy!

5 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Richard E. Miller”

  1. Mike says:

    Thanks for featuring my suggestion for your SIA inspiration Salazar! That’s awesome of you to do this. And I’ll keep in mind what you said about featuring more female artists on your blog. I did not realize at first. But if I see any more on site paintings done by any female artists, I’ll send them your way as I totally support that (showing more female artists).
    And thanks for mentioning our museum’s “Inside Out” program that they’re doing. I think that it’s a great idea to introduce people to art who may have never stepped foot inside a museum before. And hopefully, it will encourage them to visit. I’ve never heard of Miller either until I saw this painting. Apparently, they started this program as early as November of last year, but it didn’t really kick off until the start of 2015. I knew they were up to something when I saw the very first painting on our main street downtown.
    So yep, our little city is doing a really amazing thing. πŸ™‚
    Thanks again Salazar!

  2. Yay! I am hoping to join in and I’ll post something next Monday. It’s such a beautiful painting and a great way for me to find out more about American artists I haven’t heard of. πŸ™‚

  3. […] challenge for next Monday was set by Salazar of 14 Shades of Grey. It is Richard E. Miller’s painting The Green Cage. For me, this is also a great way to learn […]


Leave a Reply

