Weekly Capsule 16.1 & SIA: Watercolor Plaid

watercolor tee plaid pants brown heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

For this week’s SIA, inspired by Katherine Cameron’s watercolor “Snowdrops”, I put together an outfit that is a little more interpretative rather than literal: a T-shirt with a watercolor print and plaid pants (Cameron was Scottish, you see.)

I’ve talked about how these pants are like pajamas before, but this shirt is like a dressier version of the baggy T-shirts I usually wear to bed as well, so this outfit is insanely comfy. The only thing I did to make it more work-appropriate is to add these heels – they’re to replace my beloved heeled loafers that have completely fallen apart, and also my last addition to my Top 10 picks. Yay, it only takes 20 days to figure out the 10 pieces that capture my style! (Honestly, I could’ve picked them all in one or two days if I really sat down and thought about it, which I was too lazy to do.)

Oh and, don’t forget to check out Jen’s blog to see other interpretations of this painting.

watercolor tee green plaid pants by 14 shades of grey

watercolor tee plaid pants by 14 shades of greyplaid pants brown heeled by 14 shades of grey loafers

Top, Heels, & Pants: all local shops

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 16.1 & SIA: Watercolor Plaid”

  1. Mike says:

    I see that this is a different approach that you’re taking for this SIA inspiration Salazar. I like the interpretative approach that you’re taking with this one. While still matching your outfit’s colors with that of the painting, I like how your shirt is a watercolor print, which matches the medium that is used for the painting (watercolor). And I like how your pants reflect the fact that the artist is Scottish and that plaid is usually associated with Scotland. Another thing to note is the use of line in the background of the painting (depicting the trees) and your plaid pants show lines as well.
    Great job!

  2. Kezzie says:

    I would LOVE to wear those trousers- they look insanely comfy (and I am a complete Tartan fan!) and I LIKE your thinking on the tartan= Scottish! Good one. The tee is a great idea! I remembered last minute about SIA and it was pure serendipity that I was wearing something suitable, it was not planned at all!x


Leave a Reply

