Weekly Capsule 15.4: That Silver Necklace

chambray polka dot shirt black pleated skirt mustard heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

The other day I saw on Tumblr a text post that says “I want to look like an Arctic Monkeys song”, and that got me thinking about how fashion can be linked to specific kinds of music. I’m not talking about entire cultures like punk or goth, but rather how some songs can conjure up images of a certain style, you know? For example, Ray LaMontagne’s Empty always makes me think of boho lawn dresses and loose hair with flowers woven into them.

And then that got me thinking, if I were to say “I want to look like a [band/artist] song”, who would I pick? Well, Lisa Hannigan is kind of my style icon, but I wouldn’t describe my style using her music, which is a bit too folksy. I wouldn’t pick Snow Patrol either, whose sound is much too expansive (is that a word you can use to describe music? I mean the kind of the music you’d play in a stadium). Not Belle & Sebastian, who is too twee, and not Kasabian, who is a bit too edgy. Then I have it: Tired Pony. Their music just the right mix: simple, streamlined, a bit hipster, a bit quirky. And the fact that they have a song called That Silver Necklace is just perfect.

Is it weird that I actually spend time thinking about this?

chambray polka dot shirt black pleated skirt by 14 shades of grey chambray polka dot shirt black pleated skirt mustard heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

chambray polka dot shirt black pleated skirt mustard heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey chambray polka dot shirt silver necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Gap, Shoes & Necklace: Forever21, Skirt: thrifted

This week’s look (not very cohesive, I admit, but I like them):

striped top black midi skirt yellow heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greystriped top wool blazer black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

polka dot chambray shirt gray cardigan black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greuchambray polka dot shirt black pleated skirt mustard heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 15.4: That Silver Necklace”

  1. Not weird at all. It’s the mark of a creative mind. I love this capsule. I think it may be my favorite so far.

  2. Ahh, I love your thoughts! So intriguing! I wish I could find an artist that encapsulated my style, but I feel like my style is still far too scattered and varied to even try. Now I’m going to have to listen to Tired Pony to see if I like their music as much as I like your style.


Leave a Reply

