Weekly Capsule 15.2: Autumn In Spring

striped top wool blazer black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

The background looks like fall, my outfit looks like fall (I tried making it more spring-appropriate by adding the scarf, though it didn’t help), but I swear, this is what spring is like for us. Spring weather is absolutely psychotic here – last week was super warm and sunny, almost summer-like, then this week the temperature just plummeted. Also, around here the trees don’t start shedding leaves until spring, when the spring rain allows them to put forth new leaves right away, so you’ll find brown leaves on the streets of Hanoi around March – April instead of in the fall.

Anyway, this blazer: I’ve been looking for a tweed/woolen blazer since forever, but the local stores never seem to carry one, so when my mom handed this down to me, I was excited. And I was excited when the temperature dropped because that meant I could wear it now instead of waiting until next fall. But then my dad said it looked like I was wearing one of his blazers (thanks, Dad) and now I’m not so sure anymore. Is it too boxy, too big? What do you guys think?

striped top wool blazer black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greystriped top wool blazer black jeans by 14 shades of grey

striped top wool blazer floral scarf by 14 shades of greywool blazer black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Blazer, Jeans, Scarf & Boots: hand-me-down (yeah, I’ve pretty much replaced thrifting with raiding my mom and sister’s closets), Shirt: Forever21

One Comment on “Weekly Capsule 15.2: Autumn In Spring”

  1. ahhhhh. I love this menswear inspired look! I understand your concerns about the blazer, and I might be hesitant about wearing it myself for that reason – but I honestly think you completely pull it off.


Leave a Reply

