Weekly Capsule 15.1: A Tall Child

striped top black midi skirt yellow heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

This has nothing to do with the outfit, but recently, I’ve turned down an offer for a temporary but potentially exciting gig, in favor of my sometimes tedious but steadier job. Although I feel, ultimately, it was the right choice, I still wonder. Admittedly, if I took that offer, I doubt I’d be anything more than a glorified errand-girl, but it may open up doors for me… or it may not. And then, as I was wondering about this, I thought to myself, is it adulthood? Having to make decisions on your own and live with the consequences, whether you like it or not? I guess so. Once again, I have to turn to my favorite comedian, Dylan Moran, who has so many great quotes about adulthood:


And of course I never missed a chance to insert a Dylan Moran gif

OK, serious talk over. Back to the fashion: I’m adding this striped top and these oxford heels to my Top 10. The heels are a bit beat-up, but they are my favorite, so I want to give them one last hurrah before retiring them to the Big Shoebox in the Sky.

striped top black midi skirt by 14 shades of greyblack midi skirt yellow heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

striped top necklace by 14 shades of greystriped top black midi skirt by 14 shades of grey

Top & Shoes: Forever21, Skirt: thrifted, Necklace: local shop

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 15.1: A Tall Child”

  1. That GIF cracked me up so much. I’m in the you never really grow up corner, you just get better at acting like you are. I love the simplicity of this outfit. I need a new striped tee to pair with my black pleated skirt.

  2. Mike says:

    It’s ironic that you mention something like this Salazar. I find myself in a similar situation at my job. Today I was just called in for an interview for a better job I applied for just last week that is offering more money. I will certainly go through with the interview, but even if I’m selected for the job, I’m still not sure I want to take it at this point. The thought of making more money sounds nice, but I do like where I’m currently at too. And I am comfortable there. So to answer your question, yes, I think it is a big part of adulthood. It’s all about making decisions in life and then living with whatever consequences that follow, whether they are positive or negative.
    I think that no matter what decision you made Salazar, it would have been the right one. The important thing is that you are happy with what you decided. Sometimes we are not always ready to take that next step. And like you said, taking the new job may have opened up new doors. But then, it may not have. I have no idea if the decision that I decide to make will open up a new door for me. But whether it does or it doesn’t, I can at least be happy in the fact that I was even offered such an opportunity. Anyway, let’s wait and see what happens.
    And wow. I didn’t know that they made high heeled oxfords for women. That’s pretty cool.

  3. Yes, adults are totally just tall children! I hope you continue to be okay with the choice! It’s hard trying to decide which job to pursue when considering how well it will work out in the future. My husband is going through that right now — his current job has him topped out at a pay rate that is not enough to support a family, and he’s had so many jobs to look into and consider about whether they’re better in the long run (some that would mean a temporary pay cut but twice as much as he makes now in the future, some that would pay more immediately but might not go much of anywhere…) and it’s stressful. Ish.

    I love this outfit. Striped tops with simple skirts has always appealed to me! And it’s too bad those shoes are going to be retired soon; they’re so cute!


Leave a Reply

