Weekly Capsule 14.3: Adventures In Shopping

blue striped shirt white jeans brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

I miss thrifting. We do have thrift stores in Hanoi, but they vary wildly in terms of price and quality, and there is no organization like Goodwill, so it is a process of trial and error to find a trusty thrift shop, which I don’t have the time for. I know I’ve said it plenty of times since moving home, but I’ve never really articulated what exactly that I miss about thrifting. Then the other day, while I was looking through my brooch collection, I was reminded of when and where I got each of them, and I realized – I miss the sense of adventure that comes with thrifting. Now when I shop, I usually check the store’s inventory online first, then I go to the store, get what I want, and that’s that. With thrift stores, you have to do a bit of digging, and you never know what treasure you’re going to find.

But then again, maybe it’s a good thing that thrift stores are less accessible here, because I have enough problem with shopping as it is 😛

And besides, sometimes you can find treasure while shopping at normal stores. I went accessory-shopping the other day, intending only to buy a couple of brooches (you’ll see them soon), but then I saw this necklace. It’s quite similar to this necklace that Jen picked for my “Jewelry Idea” Pinterest board, so of course I snatched it up. I’m including it in my Top 10 pieces too.

blue striped shirt white jeans by 14 shades of greyblue striped shirt white jeans brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

white jeans brown sandals by 14 shades of greyblue striped shirt copper necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Mango, Jeans: Calvin Klein, Necklace: local shop, Sandals: gift

3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 14.3: Adventures In Shopping”

  1. This outfit is so perfect. I love the crisp white paired with stripes and tan. So summer-y and pretty!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Oh my! Life without regular thrifting! Intolerable!!! x

  3. What a great necklace!


Leave a Reply

