Weekly Capsule 14.2: Peggy Dress

mustard plaid dress blue belt black heels by 14 shades of grey

Anybody watches Mad Men? Did you guys catch the premiere for season 7.5 yet? Boy, was that bleak or what? I mean, it’s always been bleak (I once binge-watched the first three seasons during one winter break, and had to alternate it with some comedy shows because the dysfunction was too much), but it’s like everybody on that show is headed for that self-destruct button now.

I wasn’t going to talk about Mad Men, but then I realized that this dress is very much like something Peggy would wear (plaid and mustard yellow are both often found in Peggy’s wardrobe.) Only my attempt to style it differently has failed miserably this time – I think it would look better with just the brooch and no belt (yeah, it’s a bit “19th century schoolmarm”, but I can pull it off) or just the belt and no brooch. Having both is just too much. Still, I’m adding this dress to my Top 10 pick. I’m hoping that by incorporating it into the challenge, I can come up with more creative ways to style it.

mustard plaid dress locket brooch by 14 shades of greymustard plaid dress blue belt by 14 shades of grey

mustard plaid dress blue belt by 14 shades of greymustard plaid dress black heels by 14 shades of grey

Dress: tailor, Belt: thrifted, Brooch: vintage, Shoes: hand-me-down

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 14.2: Peggy Dress”

  1. kezzie says:

    I’ve not seen Madmen but I very much like this dress. I have shirtdress obsession at the mo!!!x

  2. I lol-ed at comparing yourself to a school marm. While it does have a “period” feel to it with the brooch, I think the belt brings it more to the 60s Mad Men feel. I had to quit watching Mad Men because I couldn’t handle all the train wrecks. Though I’ve heard some interesting plot lines come out of it. Maybe once it finishes I’ll tackle the entire series at once. That’s how I like to do it.

  3. You have the coolest jewelry!


Leave a Reply

