Weekly Capsule 14.1: Polka Dots & Stripes

striped shirt polka dot skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

For SIA, I’m usually a stickler for staying true to the original work’s colors. However, for this week’s challenge, inspired by Crystal Liu‘s “The Flowers” series, I decided to go for something more graphically reminiscent of the paintings – with the soft lines and dots – rather than sticking close to the black, white, and gold color scheme. Which is why my outfit is more black, white, and blue. But come on, my polka dot flower brooch is the perfect interpretation of the original paintings and the perfect complement for the outfit, even if I do say so myself.

There’s still time to send me your outfit photos and/or post if you want to participate in this week’s SIA. The round-up will go live tomorrow, so be sure to check back!

striped shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of greystriped shirt polka dot skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

week07_salazar_liu

polka dot skirt black heels by 14 shades of greystriped shirt polka dot flower brooch by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Mango, Skirt: local shop, Shoes: hand-me-down, Brooch: vintage

P/S: I’m pretty sure this shirt and skirt will be in my Top 10 pick. The skirt is a no-brainer – pleats, polka dots, and pockets! – but the shirt is very “me” as well, simple and streamlined with a quirky detail (the round collar instead of the usual folded down one you see on button-up shirts.)

6 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 14.1: Polka Dots & Stripes”

  1. Mike says:

    Your flower brooch is pretty cool Salazar. It’s like a cerulean blue, that adds a bit of color to the black and white, which I think is better than what the gold does in the painting. And the shape of it matches perfectly with the flowers in “The Flowers” painting. And your outfit matches perfectly with the painting as well. You don’t have to match every color found in a painting for it to be a great SIA match. It’s perfect! Great job! How’s the weather over in Vietnam?

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks Mike. It was uncomfortably hot last week, but it’s cooling down now, and we’re due for some rain soon. Just the usual psychotic spring weather πŸ™‚

      • Mike says:

        You’re welcome Salazar. πŸ™‚ And yeah, I hear ya about the weather. April is our “rainy” season so we’re getting plenty of that right now. It hasn’t gotten hot here yet but will in a few months. Hoping for a mild summer this year!

  2. The patterns still emulate the piece. Your thought process is clear too. I have yet to participate in SIA, but I love hearing how everyone decides on the clothing pieces they do and seeing everyone’s individual interpretation. Really shows the participants unique creative vision.

  3. You gotta have pockets πŸ™‚ I like that brooch, I think it’s the perfect touch!

  4. Jess says:

    THAT. SKIRT. I think it works perfectly with the flowers–being able to emulate the polka-dottiness of the gold flowers makes it spot on (no pun intended, maybe?). I think it was a great choice. And the brooch is, of course, adorable.


Leave a Reply

