Weekly Capsule 12.3: Night At The Opera

black and white dress black cardigan black cut-out heels by 14 shades of grey

I actually wore this last weekend to go a concert with my mom at the Hanoi Opera House. I don’t have that many occasions to dress up for, but when I do, this is my go-to “special occasion” dress – it’s really easy to style, and it looks more put together than everything else I had. (Although, if I’m being really honest, another reason I automatically reach for it whenever the word “fancy” comes up is because it’s one of the few things in my closet that I paid full price for, and I’ve only worn it, like, four or five time since, so I’d like to get my money’s worth :p)

black and white dress black cardigan by 14 shades of greyblack and white dress black cardigan black cut-out heels by 14 shades of grey

black and white dress black cardigan by 14 shades of greyblack and white dress black cardigan red flower brooch by 14 shades of grey

Anyway, the concert was fun. It was to celebrate the 30-year anniversary of Vietnam joining La Francophonie, so there was a nice mix of Vietnamese and French music (Clair de Lune played on Vietnamese traditional instruments and Vietnamese folk songs sung by a French choir, that kind of thing.) It was too bad that they didn’t allow DLSR inside the Opera House, because the architecture is gorgeous. I had to make do with these crappy phone photos instead.

hanoi opera house by 14 shades of greyhanoi opera house by 14 shades of grey

hanoi opera house by 14 shades of grey

Dress: Zara, Cardigan: Target, Shoes: Tamaris (hand-me-down), Brooch: vintage

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 12.3: Night At The Opera”

  1. ritzgrrl says:

    Ooh, I love that dress! I can see why it’s your go to.

  2. Your dress is really pretty, and it does look so versatile. Love how you styled it!

  3. The dress is absolutely perfect for you for a night on the town. It’s not something I would necessarily reach for but it exudes your personality so much so. That building is gorgeous too. Also that sounds like an interesting concert. Glad you had a good time!

  4. Mike says:

    A very classy look Salazar. A perfect look for a night out with your mom. You always look very nice. 🙂
    And Hanoi Opera House is gorgeous! Wow, I wish we had something like this where I live. We have some pretty nice theatres here, including one that is an “atmospheric theatre”, one of the few left in the US, but none of them look like this.
    I’m always fascinated by how high the ceilings are in some of these places.
    And those columns in the last picture look to be in the Corinthian style.
    Your phone took some pretty nice pictures of the opera house. A lot better than the camera on my iPod.


Leave a Reply

