Weekly Capsule 11.3: Journaling

white eyelet top khaki blazer black jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

I believe I’ve talked about my journals on the blog before – I kept a journal throughout middle school and high school, and a bit in college too, but from my junior year in college until grad school, script writing took over, and then I started the blog, which is a journal of sort, so I just stopped. I don’t think I’ll ever get back to it, because there is only so much of your day that is worth documenting. I kinda miss writing in an actual journal with pen and paper though. Mostly the only thing I write with pen and paper now is brainstorming for story ideas (which reads like the rambling of a madman and makes sense to nobody but myself.)

What I’ve been trying to do is start a dream journal. “Trying”, because there are only two entries so far. Sometimes I don’t remember my dreams, and sometimes they’re too tedious to even bother. I plan to use them for story ideas, you see, and a dream about forgetting my passport at home is not going to be that useful. I guess it’s true what Dylan Moran said, your dreams become more boring as you get older.

white eyelet top khaki blazer black jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top khaki blazer black jeans by 14 shades of grey

white eyelet top khaki blazer necklace by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top khaki blazer black jeans heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Top: Mango, Jeans: Mango, Blazer: hand-me-down, Heels & Necklace: local shops

4 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 11.3: Journaling”

  1. I adore this outfit. It looks fantastic on you. Though it’s all neutrals, it’s not drab either. I have gotten back to journaling my dreams as well. I, like you, have very little time to write secularly, so, besides blogging, dreams are about all I have left to write about.

  2. Mike says:

    I admit it. I too was a “journalist” in my younger days as well. During my early teens, I was in the “budding” stages of becoming a writer. But when I look back on some of my old journals and read them, I can’t help but think of how incoherent many of them were. Now, 15 some years later, I feel that I have become a much better writer than I once was, as my vocabulary has heightened significantly. But similar to you, I don’t have much going on now that’s really worth documenting, unless my rants and fits count. But while I’m not as consistent in my writings as I once was, I still find myself documenting significant parts of my day when I have time to sit down and write.
    Your dream journal sounds like a great idea. I should try that. My dreams (those that I remember) are usually too bizarre to really write down, but it may be an interesting brain storming idea for the book that I soon want to write. I’m currently keeping a “Happiness Journal”, which unlike my other present journals, I write in every day, just one or two sentences describing something that brought me joy for the day. You’ll be surprised at how much better you feel after you write down something that makes you happy each day.
    I agree with Mr. Moran. After some of the scary dreams that I used to have as a child, boring sounds good to me.

    • Salazar says:

      A “Happiness Journal” sounds like a great idea, but I may be too much of a grouch for that 😛

      And about childhood dreams – those are fucked up, right? I remember one that I had when I was about 9 or 10, about a truck that spewed blood. I had no idea where I got it from. Still creeps me out now. Thank God these days my nightmares are mostly about being late to school and forgetting things at home!

      • Mike says:

        Thanks. The concept is based off of Gretchen Rubin’s book “The Happiness Project”.
        Oh, I’m a total grouch, like all the time these days. I do, what I call “internal scrutiny”, which is, every time someone annoys me or says something I don’t like, I usually “say” something sarcastic in my mind about that person. I don’t know if you’re familiar with the anime The Melancholy Of Haruhi Suzumiya, but I’m very similar to the character Kyon in the show, because I’m always snarking inside my own head like him. Helps me to keep from snapping at people, which is what I really want to do sometimes. I even laugh at some of the things I come up with, which helps blunt the blow.

        And yeah, totally. That would creep me out too. I have a pretty wild one as well. About 10 years ago or so, I dreamed that I was trapped on a sinking ship and couldn’t escape. Sound familiar? This came from my mom watching “Titanic” when the movie was still a big hit on TV and it was at the part where the ship is starting to go down. And I just stood there and watched it briefly. It totally freaked me out. And things that freak me out, I tend to dream about. But yeah, I hear ya. Now my nightmares are mostly about being late to work, or forgetting to turn in my timecard! I can deal with those.


Leave a Reply

