Weekly Capsule 11.2: Plaid, Plaid, Plaid

mustard plaid dress brown oxford heels by 14 shades of grey

In keeping with this week’s theme of dressing like it’s fall instead of spring (which I just made up), here I am in the most autumnal colors ever. To be fair, I had this dress made a while ago, but by the time the tailor was finished it’d gotten too cold. So if nothing else, at least I’m glad the weather is warming up enough for me to wear it now.

The tricky thing with this dress is, as amazingly comfy as it is, I can’t think of any other way to style it. I mean, I can layer it with a blazer or a thin cardigan now, but once the temperature gets into the 90’s, which is when I’m sure I’ll be wearing it the most, there is nothing else I can do with it. That’s the problem with dresses in the summer, right? They’re so easy to wear yet you get bored with them so easily because you can pretty much only change the look by switching out the shoes.

mustard plaid dress brown oxford heels by 14 shades of greymustard plaid dress by 14 shades of grey

mustard plaid dress arrow brooch by 14 shades of grey

mustard plaid dress by 14 shades of greymustard plaid dress brown oxford heels by 14 shades of grey

Dress: tailored, Belt: Forever21, Heels: local shop, Brooch: Etsy

5 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 11.2: Plaid, Plaid, Plaid”

  1. Madaline says:

    I’m just obsessed with all that’s vintage. This dress is so cute and it’s even more perfected by that pin! That is such an awesome etsy find.

  2. Do you have a fitted vest? I know when it’s hot out you hate to add layers, but during the summer I have a very light weight suiting vest in a navy linen that I add to my dresses as well as lighter-weight scarves. When it gets too hot for both of those, I add a statement necklace. I find that a different necklace or a bright belt. It works for me at least. I love the fit of this dress on you. It’s so flattering. I think the orange can be played up well for the summer months with open-toed flats.

  3. This dress is so, so pretty! It looks fantastic on you, and you styled it perfectly with those oxfords.

  4. You had this made? It’s gorgeous and looks totally vintage and timeless! It definitely looks fantastic with the shoes (I confess to an addiction to heeled oxfords…)
    You could consider scarves as belts and sashes to add different seasonal colours- highlight the orange or yellow undertones in the dress? Can’t wait for spring weather!


Leave a Reply

