Weekly Capsule 11.1: Pumpkin And Lizards and Things

white eyelet top maroon cardigan black jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

It’s starting to feel like spring around here (read: warm and humid), but this is a very “fall” outfit, isn’t it? A fall hipster outfit, to be exact. All I’m missing is a pair of black-rimmed glasses (which I totally have) and a pumpkin spiced latte (which I totally don’t drink.) But then again, I’ve never been very good about seasonal-appropriate dressing. I think it’s a bit silly, to be honest, the idea of wearing certain colors in certain season. As long as it’s weather-appropriate, I’m good.

In other news, I took my niece to see Cinderella on Saturday. My niece loved it, of course, but to me it’s kind of pointless. It doesn’t improve on the 1950 animated version, nor it is a particularly good live-action version. It’s not even that pretty to look at – the sets look artificial and the costumes are garish. Pretty much my only entertainment during the movie is having Game of Thrones flashbacks – there are two GoT actors in it; there is this one scene with a giant stag in the forest; and the Prince, played by Richard Madden aka Robb Stark, has a storyline very similar to Robb’s (he has to marry for the benefit of the kingdom, he chooses to marry for love). I almost wanted The Rains of Castamere to start playing during the ball scene.

white eyelet top maroon cardigan black jeans by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top maroon cardigan black jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

black jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top maroon cardigan book necklace by 14 shades of grey

Top & Jeans: Mango, Cardigan: local shop, Flats: Footglove, Necklace: self-made

P/S: Happy St. Patrick’s Day to whoever celebrates it!

3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 11.1: Pumpkin And Lizards and Things”

  1. I didn’t expect that Cinderella would be very good, but it’s too bad that it was even pretty to look at. I can forgive movies for some of their mistakes as long as they are pretty. The King in the North is pretty, but I’d prefer him to still be on GoT to this.

  2. I can understand thinking that Cinderella was somewhat bland – but it’s Cinderella, that’s kind of what I expected. And I personally thought it was a gorgeous movie.
    But anyway, this outfit is lovely! Your cardigan looks so cozy, and the necklace pulls the whole look together.

  3. Mike says:

    Thank you! I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that seasonal appropriate dressing is silly. It’s just so much easier to wear mostly one color all year long as long as I’m warm in the winter and cool in the summer, right? Besides, I can never keep up with the “rules” of what color to wear and when and all that.
    I think that a lot of these live action films taken from the original animated version are a way of “modernizing” what has already been done; sort of giving it that 21st century zing to it. But it’s like you said Salazar, what’s the point? It’s like what they did with The Smurfs. I loved the cartoon, but didn’t care much for the movie when I saw it. It didn’t completely suck but is not something I’d want to watch again. So what’s next for Disney’s live action film? Beauty And the Beast?
    Glad to hear that spring is in full bloom in Vietnam. Feels like fall here in the US, like late October fall…


Leave a Reply

