Weekly Capsule 10.2: Tay-Tay

gingham shirt navy blazer mustard jeans black booties by 14 shades of grey

Navy and mustard seems like such a natural combination that I’m surprised I didn’t put this together sooner. To be fair, it’s a direct copy of this pin of Taylor Swift – I may be missing a Starbucks cup (eww) and a cat carrier (my cats would kill me if I put them in any kind of bag or basket or cage), but it’s pretty close, right? I’m not a fan of Taylor Swift’s music, but I do like her street style.

gingham shirt navy blazer mustard jeans black booties by 14 shades of greygingham shirt navy blazer mustard jeans black booties by 14 shades of grey

gingham shirt navy blazer mustard jeans by 14 shades of greygingham shirt navy blazer leaf brooch by 14 shades of grey

mustard jeans black booties by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: local shop, Blazer: Atmosphere, Jeans: Cache, Boots: Betts, Brooch: gift shop at The Getty

6 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 10.2: Tay-Tay”

  1. I love navy and mustard! And the gingham shirt goes perfectly with this outfit. T. Swift’s style is pretty fantastic!

  2. Mike says:

    These colors look great together Salazar. They don’t clash and yet they stand out enough to make a great combo for your overall look.
    It’s sort of like the school uniform look without it actually being a uniform. Great job!
    Haha, and I take it from your reaction that you’re not a Starbucks fan? They’re such a chain now, like McDonalds; you see them everywhere.

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah we have Starbucks in Vietnam now, that’s how you know they’re a chain (McDonald’s doesn’t really catch on, for some reason. There are more KFC and Popeye’s, so maybe we prefer chicken.) I don’t drink coffee, but I don’t think the stuff they sell in Starbucks qualifies as coffee either.

      • Mike says:

        You got that right. While I’m not a heavy coffee drinker myself, I do enjoy coffee and that stuff they sell at Starbucks is DEFINITELY NOT coffee. I don’t know what they do to it (it always tastes like it’s burned or something), but I don’t go there often. I prefer our local coffee shops that actually know how to make good coffee.
        It’s really strange because they closed down all of our KFC places in my town a few years ago. I don’t know why, but now Churches Chicken reigns as the top chicken restaurant chain, with Popeyes probably coming in 2nd.
        Yeah, McDonalds is highly overrated I think. We have so many restaurants here that you can barely walk down a busy street without walking past one. No joke. Must be those golden arches.

  3. I like your outfit better. Taylor can be hit and miss for me, both style-wise and musically, although I do think from what I’ve seen and read about her, she’s a great person and a good role model (for the most part.) But, you know. I like your style better overall.

    Oh, Starbucks. I’ve been liking them less and less lately. I’m not above (or below…?) getting Starbucks, but if I had my choice it would be homemade coffee, or… you know… better coffee places. That have almond milk so I can actually have lattes and not upset my dairy-and-soy-hating stomach.

    Also, I did not notice she was carrying a cat until you said something. Ha!

    • Mike says:

      I agree with you there about Starbucks Kristina. I was just telling Salazar that I think they burn their coffee. It’s always tastes scorched. Local coffee shops make better coffee I think because they’re not part of a huge chain. They can’t afford to sell bad products as that’s their business. If you want customers to return, you have to give them a reason to want to return and Starbucks hasn’t done this lately. Homemade coffee is probably your best bet.


Leave a Reply

