Weekly Capsule 09.4: Jim-jams

black striped shirt green plaid pants brown oxfords by 14 shades of grey

See what I mean about roller-coaster weather? Yesterday I was in sweater and blanket scarf, and today it’s t-shirt and pajama-like pants (it’s the plaid. They look like my dad’s pajama pants.) I’m still trying to make these pants work-appropriate, but other than a white shirt and heels, I don’t know how else to dress them up. So for now I’m using them as my “work at home” pants – they’re really comfortable, so it feels like I’m wearing sweatpants, yet they’re actual pants, so it feels like I’m still making an effort. Unlike those “joggers” you see everywhere on the blogosphere a couple of months ago. Look, I’m all for comfy clothes, but I also hate giving old things new, pretentious names just to make something sound trendy. Joggers. Pfft. Shut up, they’re f**king sweats.

P/S: I’ve been watching so much British TV these days that it feels a little weird typing “pants”. In British English they would be “trousers” or “slacks”, and “pants” usually refer to underwear.

black striped shirt green plaid pants by 14 shades of greygreen plaid pants brown oxfords by 14 shades of grey

black striped shirt green plaid pants by 14 shades of greyblack striped shirt telephone necklace by 14 shades of grey

Top: Forever21, Pants & Oxfords: local shop, Necklace: vintage

And here are my four looks this week – I think the capsule always works best when I have some sort of color scheme running through it, it makes the whole thing look a lot more cohesive:

white sweater green plaid pants green heels by 14 shades of greystriped shirt moto jacket blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

white sweater green scarf blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greyblack striped shirt green plaid pants brown oxfords by 14 shades of grey

One Comment on “Weekly Capsule 09.4: Jim-jams”

  1. […] pants (Cameron was Scottish, you see.) I’ve talked about how these pants are like pajamas before, but this shirt is like a dressier version of the baggy T-shirts I usually wear to bed as well, so […]


Leave a Reply

