Weekly Capsule 09.1: Trigger Warning

white sweater green plaid pants by 14 shades of grey

I’m back to the weekly capsule and with a book review, to boot: Neil Gaiman’s latest short story collection, “Trigger Warning”. Let’s start!

Now, I love Neil Gaiman’s other two collections (Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things Fragile Things especially), and I love fantasy/sci-fi short stories as a whole, so I fully expected to adore this one. However, I was a bit disappointed. It isn’t bad, exactly, but none of the stories really stuck with me like the ones in his previous anthologies. Some of them are kind of boring, while others have great ideas, but the execution feels rushed, almost like a different writer trying to emulate Gaiman’s style.

Still, a not-so-great book from Neil Gaiman to me is still better than most, so I’m going to talk a bit more about the ones that I like best:

The Thing about Cassandra (an artist, as a young boy, invented a girlfriend, and years later learns that she may have been real): the idea is great, and definitely keeps me guessing until the last minute. I only wish it was a bit more developed, especially the ending.

Down to a Sunless Sea (on the bank of the Thames, a woman recalls her tragic life story to a sailor): I actually read this online before, and it’s my favorite in the entire book. It’s like a Decemberists song. Moody, lyrical, and gruesome, it’s Gaiman at his best.

Click-Clack the Rattlebag (a boy tells his babysitter about a monster called Click-Clack): This would make a great horror short film. Hey, if I can get the rights to it…

Nothing O’ Clock (a being escapes from a prison built by the Time Lords and arrives on Earth to hunt down Doctor Who): even though this is set during Matt Smith’s run as the 11th Doctor and therefore not my favorite, I still like the story itself. I just did a bit of rewriting in my head to pretend it’s Nine and Rose instead of Eleven and Amy.

The Sleeper and the Spindle (Snow White meets Sleeping Beauty, literally): Gaiman’s retelling of Snow White is pretty much my favorite fairytale retelling ever, and this one, while not as dark as Snow, Glass, Apple, is an interesting take.

Black Dog (Shadow, the main character of American Gods, is making his way through England when he stops at a village and discovers its secrets): this is like the teaser to an American Gods sequel, so naturally I like it. Plus the story itself is good too, despite being a bit predictable.

As you can see, I’m trying to mimic the book’s cover with the outfit. My only regret is that there is a wolf/dog on the cover, and I wish I had a wolf pendant to wear, instead of this hipster owl thing.

white sweater green plaid pants green heels by 14 shades of greywhite sweater green plaid pants by 14 shades of grey

white sweater owl necklace by 14 shades of greywhite sweater green plaid pants green heels by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: Atmosphere, Pants: local shop, Heels: vintage, Necklace: Forever21

2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 09.1: Trigger Warning”

  1. I just read my first Neil Gaiman last month; oh, and I forgot to include it my read books! Anyway, he is great and I might pick up this book just for the Sleeper and the Spindle. I still haven’t read Snow, Glass, Apple, but it’s on my list.

    I love this outfit; the dark green shoes are an especially wonderful touch!

    • Salazar says:

      Ooh, I saw that you read American Gods! Awesome. I prefer his children books and his short stories, but that one is amazing. If you want to read Snow, Glass, Apple, it’s in “Smoke and Mirrors”.


Leave a Reply

