Weekly Capsule 04.1: Silver & Stones

gray lace top gray cardigan wide-leg jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

For this week’s SIA, inspired by the Grassi family crest made by Renaissance sculptor Properzia de Rossi, I had decided that I would wear this top – the color, the texture, and the lace are perfect echoes of the silver filigree, and the brown boots and brooch would mimic the carved peach and plum stones.

However, I was a bit stumped when trying to figure out what to pair the top with. My gray pencil skirt and gray tights seem to be a natural choice, but when I tried that on, it didn’t feel very “me” at all. One of my sartorial goal this year is to have more realistic outfits for SIA, i.e. outfits I would actually wear and not just something I put together especially for SIA. That is why, after some consideration, I decided to go with these jeans instead. The outfit may not be perfect for SIA, but it’s perfect for me, and that’s what counts.

Don’t forget to check out Jen’s blog for more interpretations of this amazing sculpture!

gray lace top gray cardigan wide-leg jeans by 14 shades of greygray lace top gray cardigan wide-leg jeans by 14 shades of grey

wide-leg jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greygray lace top gray cardigan wide-leg jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

gray lace top gray cardigan amber brooch by 14 shades of grey

Top: Vero Moda, Jeans: H&M, Boots: hand-me-down, Cardigan: Forever21, Brooch: vintage

P/S: My top, jeans, and boots are all hand-me-down from my sister. Thanks sis!

One Comment on “Weekly Capsule 04.1: Silver & Stones”

  1. […] is SIA co-founder Salazar from 14 Shades of Grey, who didn’t go as literal with the color scheme but chose a lovely textured blouse. And what […]


Leave a Reply

