Capsule Outfit #32

white sweater polka dot pants red scarf brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Apparently I’m losing my mind, because I thought that my capsule would end in January, not December, and that the turtleneck tunic I wore on Monday was part of this capsule (it wasn’t, although I don’t know if it matters or not, I’m constantly pulling stuff out and putting new stuff in anyway). At the same time, I also forgot that certain pieces, like these pants, are in the capsule from the beginning.

It just goes to show that this whole capsule wardrobe thing isn’t working out as well as I’d expected. I will stick it out until the end of December, but I’m not sure if I’ll keep doing it in the upcoming year. I like the idea of a wardrobe where everything goes together; it’s just that I need a better method to build it.

If my goal is to make the best of my closet and not shop so much, then I think I need to get rid of the idea of a “capsule” altogether. It’s useful for when you’re traveling, but in normal, everyday life, it doesn’t make sense to limit yourself to an arbitrary number of items. That will only bore you and make you want to shop even more. I need to stick to what I have and learn to work with those first.

So, I don’t know. A shopping ban? I tried it once and it didn’t work out so well for me either. Outfit planning? Like a weekly capsule, instead of one for the entire season? Maybe. Any suggestion?

white sweater polka dot pants red scarf by 14 shades of greywhite sweater polka dot pants red scarf brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: Atmosphere, Pants: Old Navy, Scarf: Icing, Boots: Topshop

5 Comments on “Capsule Outfit #32”

  1. Meghan says:

    A weekly capsule is a great thought. My first one, I limited myself far too much and though I wouldn’t call it a failure, there were some places where my first “capsule” fell short. I feel like I did better on my fall one and am only making minor changes for winter. These two seasons I favor more so than summer and I think that also made it easier. I haven’t been as strict as others have been. In my opinion, as long as you’re being simple with it, you can add and subtract as you go. There are at least two items that haven’t been worn over the past three months, so I don’t consider those capsule failures but more likely, just a refining of my wardrobe.

    • Salazar says:

      I have the attention span of a 5-year-old when it comes to clothes, so I get so bored with a three-month capsule! I think I’ll go with the weekly thing, or maybe a monthly one if I’m feeling brave enough.

  2. I LOVE those pants!!!
    Yeah, I have never been very good at the limited clothing thing, except for wearing dresses for a month. 30×30’s and capsules and shopping bans just make me want new clothes even more. I think the easiest way to sort of… limit/guide my wardrobe has been trying to stick to seasonal colors. I mix a lot more, I realize new ways to wear clothes I have had for ages and new ways to combine pieces, and my whole look gets a lot more cohesive. So that would be my suggestion; pick a color scheme, and let that be your limit. It actually has worked to keep me from constantly purchasing new things!

  3. Emily says:

    I have found fashion challenges to be a great way of inspiring me to dig in the closet and see things in my wardrobe in a new light. Look up “style me December” to get an idea –


Leave a Reply

